Cedar Oaks was built ca. 1857 by architect and builder William Turner. After surviving the Union occupation of Oxford during the Civil War, the house was moved to this site in 1963 by local club women after the house was threatened by development. Cedar Oaks is known locally as ‘the house that would not die.
The Greek Revival structure serves as a testament to survival. Union troops seized Cedar Oaks, occupied it as their headquarters, and set fire to the home following their occupation. Molly Turner Orr, William Turner’s daughter, saved the home by organizing a fire brigade.
Threatened by development and demolition nearly 100 years later, Cedar Oaks was cut in half and relocated to Murray Drive, approximately two miles from its original location on North Lamar (where the Oxford Downtown Inn is currently located). The home serves today as a venue for receptions, weddings, tours, and more.
*Photo by Susan Mann Foust. Oxford has attracted or produced a long list of the very creative artists. Photographers from Oxford are known worldwide. But even with the high tech, high dollar cameras today, in the end, it still comes down to lighting and composition. And in Susan’s work you’ll find that she has ‘it’. She works a good lens.