Thursday, June 8, 2023

Rebels Call to Action: Last Day for Fan Voting

The latest voting results from the website as of 10:25 a.m. CST March 5.

Stefan Moody and Shandricka Sessom are both finalists for the C-Spire Howell-Gillom Trophy, and they need your help. College basketball fans must cast their vote for the best men’s and women’s player in college basketball in Mississippi by 8:30 a.m. Sunday, March 6.

Dave Miller, senior media relations manager at C-Spire, said, “We need to encourage Rebel Nation to participate in the fan voting today. Moody is starting to make a late charge after trailing Q Weatherspoon most of the fan voting period.”

Because Moody trails Q by slightly more than 200 votes, Miller said fan voting is crucial at this point.

“It counts for a weighted 10 percent of the overall award,” Miller said.”The other 90 percent is comprised of sports writers and editors from print and electronic news media who cover college basketball in the state.”

The latest voting results from the website as of 10:25 a.m. CST March 5.

Although Sessom has continued to hold a slight lead over MSU’s Victoria Vivians throughout the voting on the Gillom side, Rebel fans need to continue their support to push her over the top.

Miller said, “It’s easy to vote. All fans have to do is go to the website, register and then they can vote up to three times daily. My suggested call-to-action would be vote all three times for each player if you’re a Rebel fan and get your family and friends who support Rebel Nation to vote three times as well.”

Here’s you call to action Rebel fans. Get busy casting your votes!

Randall Haley is the social media editor and a staff writer for She can be reached at