68.1 F

Johnny Vaught Honored

John Cofield's 'Oxford and Ole Miss –– Johnny VaughtThere are all the heroes of Ole Miss sports through the years, from 1893 to this year’s Egg Bowl, and then there’s Coach Johnny Vaught.

John Howard Vaught coached at The University of Mississippi from 1947 to 1970 and again in 1973. Vaught is the only coach in Ole Miss history to win an SEC football championship. Three of his teams, in 1959, 1960, and 1962, won shares of the national championship. His 1960 team received the Grantland Rice Award from the Football Writers Association of America. Vaught took Ole Miss to 18 bowl games, winning 10 times, including five victories in the Sugar Bowl.

On November 1, 2008, an imposing six-foot statue, honoring legendary Ole Miss football coach John Vaught, was dedicated in front of the Starnes Athletic Training Center on campus. The sculpture was commissioned by the M-Club Alumni Chapter and designed by Brookhaven, Mississippi’s, Dr. Kim Sessums.

“This statue is not about me,” said Sessums. “It’s about Coach Vaught and his career at Ole Miss.”

Most Popular

Recent Comments

scamasdscamith on News Watch Ole Miss
Frances Phillips on A Bigger, Better Student Union
Grace Hudditon on A Bigger, Better Student Union
Millie Johnston on A Bigger, Better Student Union
Binary options + Bitcoin = $ 1643 per week: https://8000-usd-per-day.blogspot.com.tr?b=46 on Beta Upsilon Chi: A Christian Brotherhood
Jay Mitchell on Reflections: The Square
Terry Wilcox SFCV USA RET on Oxford's Five Guys Announces Opening Date
Stephanie on Throwback Summer
organized religion is mans downfall on VP of Palmer Home Devotes Life to Finding Homes for Children
Paige Williams on Boyer: Best 10 Books of 2018
Keith mansel on Cleveland On Medgar Evans
Mark on SAS