Tuesday, December 5, 2023

Patterson Wins Mayoral Primary

Photo provided by Re-elect “Pat” Patterson for Mayor campaign.

Pat Patterson has secured his spot in the general election for the Mayor’s office in Oxford, Miss.

After Tuesday’s polls, Patterson was announced as the winner of the Democrat primary election.

Patterson faced his opponent, Jason Plunk with a unofficial final tally of: Patterson 1205, Plunk 188 votes.

Patterson will now continue his campaign as he, and Independent candidate, Todd Wade, prepare for the Mayoral general election set for June 4th.

In his released statement the mayor said, “Thank you for your vote in the primary on Tuesday. I am humbled by your consideration and support. I also want to thank Jason Plunk for a clean campaign and wish him future success in his endeavors. I am looking forward to seeing you June 4th for the general election and would appreciate your continued support. God Bless.”

During Tuesday’s primary, registered voters voted in the Mayoral and Board of Aldermen primaries.

The unofficial results of the City of Oxford Primary Election are as follows:

Mayor Total Votes
George “Pat” Patterson 1,205
Jason T. Plunk 188
Ward 1
J.P.”Jay” Hughes, Jr. 275
Ward 2
Robyn Tannehill 268
Ward 3
Janice Antonow 156
Ward 4
Ulysses “Coach “Howell 102
Arnold B. Pegues 73
Ron “Ronzo” Shapiro 20
Ward 5
Preston E. Taylor 95
Carol Flemmons 21
John F. Morgan 1220

For further information, please call the City Clerk’s office 236-1310 or visit the State of Mississippi Secretary of State’s office website: http://www.sos.ms.gov/elections5.aspx

Story by Hillary Houston, HottyToddy.com Staff Writer, hrhousto@gmail.com