59.9 F

Summers Wins C Spire Howell Trophy

Jarvis Summers Photo by Jenner Jordan / HottyToddy.com
Jarvis Summers
Photo by Jenner Jordan / HottyToddy.com

Junior Jarvis Summers has been named the 2014 C Spire Howell Trophy winner, the Mississippi Sports Hall of Fame announced Monday. The Howell Trophy, named for Bailey Howell, goes to the most outstanding men’s collegiate basketball player in Mississippi.
Summers, a native of Jackson, Miss., is the second Rebel to win the award in as many years as Marshall Henderson took home the award last year. He edged Henderson and Neil Watson of Southern Miss to win this year’s award.
Summers  is one of the most improved players in the SEC, raising his scoring average (17.2 from 9.1), his field goal percentage (49.3% from 40.4) and his 3-point percentage (44.7%  from 34.0) this season over last year’s totals. He is the only player in the SEC to rank in the top 10 in the league in scoring and field goal percentage and also in the top five in assists.
He ranks 24th in Ole Miss history with 1,163 career points and is third among active SEC players and ninth in Ole Miss history with 356 career assists.
— Ole Miss Sports Information

Most Popular

Recent Comments

scamasdscamith on News Watch Ole Miss
Frances Phillips on A Bigger, Better Student Union
Grace Hudditon on A Bigger, Better Student Union
Millie Johnston on A Bigger, Better Student Union
Binary options + Bitcoin = $ 1643 per week: https://8000-usd-per-day.blogspot.com.tr?b=46 on Beta Upsilon Chi: A Christian Brotherhood
Jay Mitchell on Reflections: The Square
Terry Wilcox SFCV USA RET on Oxford's Five Guys Announces Opening Date
Stephanie on Throwback Summer
organized religion is mans downfall on VP of Palmer Home Devotes Life to Finding Homes for Children
Paige Williams on Boyer: Best 10 Books of 2018
Keith mansel on Cleveland On Medgar Evans
Anna Carson on SASI Demands UM Administ