Saturday, January 28, 2023

OSD Announces Oxford Elementary Principal for 2014-2015 School Year

New Principal Mary Ruth Wright

The Oxford School District (OSD) announces Mary Ruth Wright as the new principal to lead Oxford Elementary School for the 2014-2015 school year.
Wright is currently the Director of Special Education for the Tupelo School District, where she is responsible for monitoring and coordinating the special education program consisting of over 1,000 special education students, over 100 support staff, 15 school sites, and a multimillion dollar budget.
“We are very proud to have Mrs. Wright join the Oxford School District,” said Brian Harvey, superintendent of Oxford schools. “She brings effective teaching and classroom management skills as both a school administrator and an instructional leader to our school district. We feel confident with her in charge of the educational plans for Oxford Elementary School and look forward to seeing positive educational experiences continue for our school children next year under her leadership.”
Wright has 21 years of teaching experience with 14 of those spent as a school administrator.
“It is truly an honor to join the Oxford School District as principal of Oxford Elementary School,” said Wright. “My husband and I look forward to moving our family to Oxford and becoming active members of the community.”
Wright also gained educational leadership experience as Director of Special Programs at Amory School District. Her classroom experience includes teaching special education for Lee County School District and Tate County School District and elementary education for Okolona School District and West Point School District. She earned her undergraduate degree in Elementary Education and master’s degree in Educational Leadership from Mississippi State University. She will complete an Educational Specialist degree in Educational Leadership from Delta State University this May.
Wright is an active in community involvement as a member of Kiwanis International, Altrusa International, the Council for Exceptional Children and