38.7 F

Rebels' Choice Awards Honor Ole Miss Scholar-Athletes

2012-01-10 18.42.59
Athletes arrive on the red carpet in front of the Gertrude Ford Center before the Rebels’ Choice Awards.

It was an event to rival any Oscar ceremony, complete with red-carpet entrances, a great light show, rocking band, wise-cracking ESPN host, and moving acceptance speeches.
The Rebels’ Choice Awards, held at the Gertrude Ford Center For the Performing Arts last night, saluted the top Ole Miss sports moments, teams, athletes, coaches, and fans.
Individual winners were: LaQuon Treadwell (football) and Asia Cooper (track and field), Rookies of the Year; Scott Weathersby (baseball) and Rachael McLamore (volleyball), Community Outreach Award; Jordan Holder (football) and Rachael McLamore (volleyball), Bennie Abram Award; Andrew Riter (football) and Caroline Rohde-Moe (tennis), Scholar-Athletes of the Year; D.T. Shackelford (football) and Skylar Johnson (volleyball), Hotty Toddy Award; Hugh Freeze (football) and Matt Mott (soccer), Coaches of the Year; Marshall Henderson (basketball), Fan Favorite; and Sam Kendricks (track and field) and Rafaella Souza (soccer), Most Valuable Rebels.
In team awards, the Play of the Year was footballer Jeff Scott’s thrilling game-winning run against Vanderbilt. The Game of the Year was the football Rebels’ last-minute win against LSU and the Teams of the Year were the Men’s Track and Field and Cross Country team, and the Women’s Soccer team.
As the athletes filed out of the Ford Center at the end of the ceremony, smiles and a sense of pride in Ole Miss and the Rebels sports program filled the warm spring air. Another year of competition and team commitment paves the way for next year’s honorees.
2012-01-10 18.49.24
All-American pole vaulter Sam Kendricks talks with fans before going into the Ford Center to accept his Most Valuable Rebel Award.

2012-01-10 18.40.06
The crowd begins moving into the Ford Center for the award presentations, including one of the prime movers behind the event, Stephen Ponder, senior executive associate athletic director.

2012-01-10 19.09.57
House band, the Soultones, know when to flash a Land Shark move.

2012-01-10 19.02.04
The athletes show their appreciation.

2012-01-10 19.48.46
Coach Freeze accepts his Coach of the Year award.

2012-01-10 20.16.16
Men’s Track and Field and Cross Country, and Women’s Soccer are the Teams of the Year.

– Photos by Andy Knef. Andy is editor of HottyToddy.com 

Most Popular

Recent Comments

scamasdscamith on News Watch Ole Miss
Frances Phillips on A Bigger, Better Student Union
Grace Hudditon on A Bigger, Better Student Union
Millie Johnston on A Bigger, Better Student Union
Binary options + Bitcoin = $ 1643 per week: https://8000-usd-per-day.blogspot.com.tr?b=46 on Beta Upsilon Chi: A Christian Brotherhood
Jay Mitchell on Reflections: The Square
Terry Wilcox SFCV USA RET on Oxford's Five Guys Announces Opening Date
Stephanie on Throwback Summer
organized religion is mans downfall on VP of Palmer Home Devotes Life to Finding Homes for Children
Paige Williams on Boyer: Best 10 Books of 2018
Keith mansel on Cleveland On Medgar Evans