59 F

Ole Miss’ Golson, Prewitt Named Thorpe Award Semifinalists

Senquez Golson and Cody Prewitt had strong nights in Death Valley last weekend. / Photo by Amelia Camurati
Senquez Golson and Cody Prewitt had strong nights in Death Valley last weekend. / Photo by Amelia Camurati

Ole Miss seniors Senquez Golson and Cody Prewitt are two of the 15 semifinalists for the 2014 Jim Thorpe Award, given to the top defensive back in college football.
Ole Miss is the only school to boast multiple semifinalists for the award, announced Monday by the Oklahoma Sports Hall of Fame
Screen Shot 2014-10-28 at 2.39.55 PMGolson, a cornerback from Pascagoula, Mississippi, is tied for the national lead with eight interceptions this season. That’s already tied for third-most in a season in school history. He has a pair of multiple-pick games (Louisiana-Lafayette and Tennessee) and has intercepted at least one pass in each of the last four outings.
Golson’s biggest moment came in the final 40 seconds against then-No. 1 Alabama, when his interception in the back of the end zone sealed the Rebels’ first ever win over a No. 1-ranked opponent. He also leads the SEC and ranks eighth nationally with 12 passes defended. His career total of 14 interceptions is the best among active SEC players and tied for fifth in Ole Miss history.
Prewitt was a first team All-America selection a year ago and has solidified his position as one of college football’s top defensive players again this season. The Bay Springs, Mississippi, native ranks third on the team in tackles (43) to go with 3.5 tackles for loss, two interceptions, a forced fumble and a fumble recovery. He turned one of his interceptions into a 75-yard touchdown return at Texas A&M.
Prewitt was a semifinalist for the Thorpe Award last year, as well.Screen Shot 2014-10-28 at 2.40.00 PM
The Thorpe Award is named after history’s greatest athlete, Jim Thorpe, and is presented by the Oklahoma Sports Hall of Fame and Jim Thorpe Association in Oklahoma City. Thorpe excelled at every sport in which he competed, including football at which he played on the offensive and defensive side of the ball. The three Thorpe Award finalists will be named on Monday, November 24th and the winner will be announced at the Home Depot College Football Awards Show on December 11th airing on ESPN. The winner of the 2014 Thorpe Award will be honored at a banquet in Oklahoma City on February 3, 2015.
The 2014 Thorpe Award semifinalists represent seven conferences: ACC (4), SEC (4), BIG-12 (2), PAC-12 (2), AAC (1), BIG-10 (1), CUSA (1).

  • Sam Carter, TCU, Sr.
  • Jeremy Cash, Duke, Jr.
  • Landon Collins, Alabama, Jr.
  • Ifo Ekpre-Olomu, Oregon, Sr.
  • Kendall Fuller, Virginia Tech, So.
  • Senquez Golson, Ole Miss, Sr.
  • Josh Hawkins, East Carolina, Jr.
  • Gerod Holliman, Louisville, Jr.
  • Ronald Martin, LSU, Sr.
  • Cody Prewitt, Ole Miss, Sr.
  • Jordan Richards, Stanford, Sr.
  • Zack Sanchez, Oklahoma, So.
  • Triston Wade, UTSA, Sr.
  • Trae Waynes, Michigan State, Jr.
  • PJ Williams, Florida State, Jr.

The Jim Thorpe Award is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA) which encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football. The 21 awards boast 699 years of tradition-selection excellence. Visit www.NCFAA.org to learn more about our story.
Follow Ole Miss Football on Twitter and Facebook, in addition to OleMissSports.com.
Courtesy of Ole Miss Sports Information

Most Popular

Recent Comments

scamasdscamith on News Watch Ole Miss
Frances Phillips on A Bigger, Better Student Union
Grace Hudditon on A Bigger, Better Student Union
Millie Johnston on A Bigger, Better Student Union
Binary options + Bitcoin = $ 1643 per week: https://8000-usd-per-day.blogspot.com.tr?b=46 on Beta Upsilon Chi: A Christian Brotherhood
Jay Mitchell on Reflections: The Square
Terry Wilcox SFCV USA RET on Oxford's Five Guys Announces Opening Date
Stephanie on Throwback Summer
organized religion is mans downfall on VP of Palmer Home Devotes Life to Finding Homes for Children
Paige Williams on Boyer: Best 10 Books of 2018
Keith mansel on Cleveland On Medgar Evans