51.6 F

Ole Miss’ Engram Tabbed Semifinalist for John Mackey Award

Engram waves to the crowed after the win over Alabama. / Photo by Amelia Camurati
Engram waves to the crowed after the win over Alabama. / Photo by Amelia Camurati

Ole Miss sophomore Evan Engram has been named one of eight semifinalists for the 2014 John Mackey Award, which goes to the most outstanding collegiate tight end.
A native of Powder Springs, Georgia, Engram has been a big weapon for the nationally ranked Rebels in his two seasons in Oxford.  With 48 catches, 678 receiving yards and five touchdowns in his short career, he already ranks among the top five Ole Miss tight ends in all three categories.
This season, Engram has 27 catches for 410 yards and two TDs, ranking third among SEC tight ends in all three. His 410 yards rank third all-time for an Ole Miss tight end. The Midseason All-SEC first teamer (ESPN, Phil Steele) leads all SEC tight ends with 15.2 yards per catch. He had standout games against Vanderbilt (7 catches, 112 yards) and Auburn (8 catches, 118 yards, TD).
The eight semifinalists were determined by confidential balloting of the John Mackey Award Selection Committee. The winner will be announced Dec. 10 and presented live Dec. 11 at The Home Depot College Football Awards Red Carpet Show: 5 p.m. CT on ESPNU.
The 2014 Mackey finalists will be announced Nov. 24. All future announcements can be found at www.johnmackeyaward.com and on Twitter @JohnMackeyAward.
NFL Hall of Fame member John Mackey is considered to be one of the best to have played the tight end position. A tight end by whom all others are measured, Mackey was a role model on and off the field as demonstrated by his Super Bowl Championship, his commitment to community and his place in history as the first President of the NFLPA.
The John Mackey Award presented since 2000, lists thirteen alumni to have played in the NFL: two-time Super Bowl Champion Daniel Graham (‘01), 2006 Super Bowl Champion Dallas Clark (‘02), Kellen Winslow II (‘03), two-time Super Bowl Champion Heath Miller (‘04) of the Pittsburgh Steelers, Marcedes Lewis (‘05) of the Jacksonville Jaguars, 2008 Super Bowl Champion Matt Spaeth (‘06) of the Pittsburgh Steelers, Fred Davis (‘07), Chase Coffman (‘08) of the Tennessee Titans, Aaron Hernandez (‘09), D.J. Williams (‘10),  Dwayne Allen (’11) of the Indianapolis Colts, Tyler Eifert (’12)  of the Cincinnati Bengals and Austin Seferian-Jenkins (’13) of the Tampa Bay Buccaneers.
The John Mackey Award is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA) which encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football. The 21 awards boast 678 years of tradition-selection excellence. Visit www.NCFAA.org to learn more.
Follow Ole Miss Football on Twitter (@OleMissFB) and Facebook (Facebook.com/OleMissFootball), in addition to www.OleMissSports.com.
2014 John Mackey Award Semifinalists
E.J. Bibbs (SR, Iowa State)
Evan Engram (SO, Ole Miss)
Ben Koyack (SR, Notre Dame)
Jimmay Mundine (SR, Kansas)
Nick O’Leary (SR, Florida State)
Jean Sifrin (JR, Massachusetts)
Clive Walford (SR, Miami)
Maxx Williams (SO, Minnesota)
–Ole Miss Sports Information

Most Popular

Recent Comments

scamasdscamith on News Watch Ole Miss
Frances Phillips on A Bigger, Better Student Union
Grace Hudditon on A Bigger, Better Student Union
Millie Johnston on A Bigger, Better Student Union
Binary options + Bitcoin = $ 1643 per week: https://8000-usd-per-day.blogspot.com.tr?b=46 on Beta Upsilon Chi: A Christian Brotherhood
Jay Mitchell on Reflections: The Square
Terry Wilcox SFCV USA RET on Oxford's Five Guys Announces Opening Date
Stephanie on Throwback Summer
organized religion is mans downfall on VP of Palmer Home Devotes Life to Finding Homes for Children
Paige Williams on Boyer: Best 10 Books of 2018
Keith mansel on Cleveland On Medgar Evans