67 F

Stefan Moody Wins C Spire Howell Trophy

Stefan Moody 2015 C Spire Howell Trophy winner. Photo courtesy of Josh McCoy/ Ole Miss Athletics
Stefan Moody 2015 C Spire Howell Trophy winner.
Photo courtesy Joshua McCoy, Ole Miss Athletics

Junior Stefan Moody has been named the 2015 C Spire Howell Trophy winner, the Mississippi Sports Hall of Fame announced Monday. The Howell Trophy, named for Bailey Howell, goes to the most outstanding men’s collegiate basketball player in Mississippi.

Moody, a native of Kissimmee, Florida, is the third Rebel to win the award in as many years as Jarvis Summers took home the award last year and Marshall Henderson won the honor in 2013. Moody edged Southern Miss’ Chip Armelin and Delta State’s Devin Schmidt to receive the honor.

A two-time SEC Player of the Week honoree this season, Moody is tied for the lead in the SEC in scoring in league games at 18.6 ppg. He ranks sixth in the nation and leads the conference in free throw percentage at 91.2 percent and leads the SEC averaging 1.9 steals/game in conference play.

Moody and the Rebels open SEC Tournament play on Thursday at 8:30 p.m. against the winner Wednesday’s night Missouri-South Carolina game.

Courtesy of Ole Miss Athletics

Adam Brown
Adam Brown
Sports Editor

Most Popular

Recent Comments

scamasdscamith on News Watch Ole Miss
Frances Phillips on A Bigger, Better Student Union
Grace Hudditon on A Bigger, Better Student Union
Millie Johnston on A Bigger, Better Student Union
Binary options + Bitcoin = $ 1643 per week: https://8000-usd-per-day.blogspot.com.tr?b=46 on Beta Upsilon Chi: A Christian Brotherhood
Jay Mitchell on Reflections: The Square
Terry Wilcox SFCV USA RET on Oxford's Five Guys Announces Opening Date
Stephanie on Throwback Summer
organized religion is mans downfall on VP of Palmer Home Devotes Life to Finding Homes for Children
Paige Williams on Boyer: Best 10 Books of 2018
Keith mansel on Cleveland On Medgar Evans
Stonewall Jackson on