51.6 F

UM Pharmacy Administrator Named Fellow of APhA

The American Pharmacists Association Academy of Pharmaceutical Research and Science has named Alicia Bouldin a 2015 APhA fellow.

Alicia Bouldin
Alicia Bouldin

Awarded to only 15 individuals this year, the designation honors members who have demonstrated exemplary professional achievements and service to the profession. Bouldin, an associate dean and professor in the University of Mississippi School of Pharmacy, will be honored March 27-30 at the APhA Annual Meeting and Exposition in San Diego.

“To have been nominated was itself a humbling occasion, for that suggests that several of my peers felt that my contributions were worthy of noting in this way,” Bouldin said. “Then to have been selected by the committee was a thrill and a bit difficult for me to grasp.”

Bouldin, who serves as associate dean of outcomes assessment and learning advancement and professor in the Department of Pharmacy Administration, joined APhA as a student in the late 1980s. During graduate school, she became a member of the Academy of Pharmaceutical Research and Science, which she said opened her eyes to how the organization is involved with the practice and development of pharmacy and pharmaceutical sciences.

Through APhA, she was able to network and foster important development opportunities through the Economic, Social and Administrative Sciences section. She has presented research at the organization’s annual meetings and gained valuable feedback from colleagues nationwide.

Alicia Bouldin (center) was honored for professional achievements and service to the pharmacy profession.
Alicia Bouldin (center) was honored for professional achievements and service to the pharmacy profession.

As a faculty member, Bouldin has reviewed manuscripts for the association’s journal and served as adviser to the UM chapter of the APhA Academy of Student Pharmacists.

“Working with student leaders in that capacity for eight years was a privilege and taught me so much about leadership development and the potential of the next generation of pharmacists,” Bouldin said.

Tina Brock, associate dean and professor of clinical pharmacy at the University of California at San Francisco, organized nominations for Bouldin. John Bentley, UM professor of pharmacy administration, and Donna West-Strum, UM professor and chair of the Department of Pharmacy Administration, contributed nomination letters.

“There is no doubt that Dr. Bouldin is very deserving of this high honor,” Bentley said. “She is a distinguished teacher, an accomplished scholar and scientist, and a highly capable administrator. Furthermore, she is a passionate servant leader. She actively and enthusiastically demonstrates professional commitment through her participation and leadership in many different service roles, including as an active and contributing member of APhA for more than 20 years.

Courtesy of Gabrielle Gero, Ole Miss News Desk

Adam Brown
Adam Brown
Sports Editor

Most Popular

Recent Comments

scamasdscamith on News Watch Ole Miss
Frances Phillips on A Bigger, Better Student Union
Grace Hudditon on A Bigger, Better Student Union
Millie Johnston on A Bigger, Better Student Union
Binary options + Bitcoin = $ 1643 per week: https://8000-usd-per-day.blogspot.com.tr?b=46 on Beta Upsilon Chi: A Christian Brotherhood
Jay Mitchell on Reflections: The Square
Terry Wilcox SFCV USA RET on Oxford's Five Guys Announces Opening Date
Stephanie on Throwback Summer
organized religion is mans downfall on VP of Palmer Home Devotes Life to Finding Homes for Children
Paige Williams on Boyer: Best 10 Books of 2018
Keith mansel on Cleveland On Medgar Evans
eye nose what eye nose on