66 F

Rose Selected for Silver Em Honor

Bill Rose  Photo courtesy of Ole Miss Communications
Bill Rose
Photo courtesy of Ole Miss Communications

Bill Rose, who for six years has led student reporting ventures for the Meek School of Journalism and New Media at the University of Mississippi, has been selected as the Samuel S. Talbert Silver Em award recipient for 2015.

The award dates to 1958. Recipients must be Mississippians with notable journalism careers or journalists with notable careers in Mississippi – or both, which is the case with Rose, who was born and grew up in Shelby. It is the university’s highest award for journalism, named for a chairman who, as it happens, was one of Rose’s instructors.

“Bill Rose is an exceptional talent who has spent much of his career writing with exceptional clarity and helping others write well,” said Will Norton Jr., dean of the Meek School of Journalism and New Media. “The Meek School has been blessed to have a person of his talent and self-effacing integrity teaching our students.”

After graduating from Ole Miss in 1969, Rose returned to the Delta, working for the Bolivar Commercial in Cleveland and later as a reporter for the Delta Democrat-Times in Greenville. During this time, he was also a staff sergeant in the U.S. Army Reserves in Greenwood.

In 1975, Rose moved to Florida, where he worked for the next 34 years. As a Miami Herald reporter, he exposed a garbage scandal that led to a grand jury investigation of organized crime’s influence on Palm Beach County government.

His next role was as chief of the Atlanta bureau, responsible for the coverage of several major stories in the South, including the Atlanta child murders. There, he won the Paul Hansell Award for the best work by a Florida journalist, for a collection of stories about the South: everything from possum rustlers to race riots to rock-ribbed gubernatorial politics. He also covered presidential politics across the South.

For the next five years, he rose through the ranks of day city editor, urban affairs editor, deputy city editor and national editor before becoming editor of Tropic, the Herald’s Sunday magazine, which won two Pulitzers during his tenure.

Rose moved to the positions of metro editor of The Palm Beach Post, then deputy managing editor and eventually managing editor of the 220-person staff from 2004 until 2009. During that time, he formed an investigative unit that led to indictment and prison sentences for several local officials. The Post also received two Robert F. Kennedy Awards for exposing migrant slavery abuses that forced changes in state law.

His transition to the university has been as a visiting professor in the Meek School as well as a fellow of the Overby Center for Southern Journalism and Politics.

“Bill Rose has had so many dream jobs in journalism and did them superbly,” said Charles Overby, for whom the center is named. “He is the master at blending excellence, high expectations and affability. I was privileged to work with him while we were students on the Daily Mississippian nearly 50 years ago, and I am blessed to work with him today at the Overby Center.”

Since the school was founded in 2009, Rose has led six Depth Reporting classes, resulting in six publications on topics ranging from the declining population of Greenville to the effect of the Voting Rights Act in the Mississippi Delta. One of the magazines, “The Roads of Broken Dreams,” received the Robert F. Kennedy Award for college journalism. Student work in another received a Hearst Prize, which is the college equivalent of a Pulitzer.

“Bill Rose distinguished himself as a top-notch reporter and editor at the Miami Herald and the Palm Beach Post, and continues to contribute to journalism today through his leadership with the award-winning, depth-reporting magazines produced by his Ole Miss students,” said Curtis Wilkie, senior Overby Fellow who also worked in the Mississippi Delta before a national and international career in journalism, mostly with The Boston Globe.

Rose’s wife, Susan, is also an Ole Miss graduate. They have two children and two grandchildren.

The Silver Em, which is the university’s highest award for journalism, will be presented at an April 6 banquet in the Overby Center at Ole Miss, starting at 6:30 p.m. Seating is limited, but reservations may be made by contacting Paula Hurdle at 662-915-7146 or pchurdle@olemiss.edu.

The Meek School of Journalism and New Media was founded in 2009, funded with an endowment gift by Ed and Becky Meek. It offers bachelor’s and master’s degree programs in both journalism and integrated marketing communications on the Oxford campus and in coordination with satellite campuses. Because of the increasing variety of media careers, enrollment continues to rise in the Meek School, where almost 1,400 undergraduate journalism and IMC majors hone their skills.



1958 – George W. Healy Jr.

1959 – Turner Catledge

1960 – Kenneth Toler

1961 – John Oliver Emmerich

1963 – George McLean

1964 – William B. Street

1965 – Purser Hewitt

1966 – Hal C. DeCell

1967 – Paul Pittman

1968 – Hodding Carter Jr.

1969 – Willie Morris

1970 – T.M. Hederman Jr.

1971 – Joseph R. Ellis

1972 – Wilson F. Minor

1973 – Mark F. Ethridge

1975 – H.L. Stevenson

1976 – William Raspberry

1977 – Joe L. Albritton

1978 – James A. Autry

1979 – James Nelson

1980 – Mary-Lynn Kotz

1981 – Curtis Wilkie

1982 – Harold Burson

1983 – John O. Emmerich

1984 – Hazel Brannon Smith

1985 – Charles Overby

1986 – W.C. “Dub” Shoemaker

1987 – Charles Dunagin (2)

– Larry Speakes (2)

1988 – Edward Fritts

1989 – Rudy Abramson

1990 – Hodding Carter III

1991 – James L. McDowell

1992 – Rheta Grimsley Johnson

1993 – Dan Goodgame

1994 – Robert Gordon

1995 – Jere Hoar

1996 – Gregory Favre

1997 – Stephanie Saul

1998 – Lerone Bennett

2000 – Jerry Mitchell

2001 – Bert Case

2002 – Ira Harkey

2003 – Jim Abbott

2005 – Otis Sanford

2006 – Dan Phillips

2007 – Stanley Dearman

2008 – Ronnie Agnew

2009 – Stan Tiner

2010 – Terry Wooten

2011 – Patsy Brumfield

2012 – Greg Brock

2013 – W. Randall Pinkston

2014 – Fred Anklam Jr.

2015 – Bill Rose

Courtesy of Jon Scott and the Ole Miss News Desk

Adam Brown
Adam Brown
Sports Editor

Most Popular

Recent Comments

scamasdscamith on News Watch Ole Miss
Frances Phillips on A Bigger, Better Student Union
Grace Hudditon on A Bigger, Better Student Union
Millie Johnston on A Bigger, Better Student Union
Binary options + Bitcoin = $ 1643 per week: https://8000-usd-per-day.blogspot.com.tr?b=46 on Beta Upsilon Chi: A Christian Brotherhood
Jay Mitchell on Reflections: The Square
Terry Wilcox SFCV USA RET on Oxford's Five Guys Announces Opening Date
Stephanie on Throwback Summer
organized religion is mans downfall on VP of Palmer Home Devotes Life to Finding Homes for Children
Paige Williams on Boyer: Best 10 Books of 2018
Keith mansel on Cleveland On Medgar Evans