58.7 F

Bowl Games of Ole Miss’ Past – Rebels Shutout Tigers in the 1960 Sugar Bowl


While Ole Miss may not be going bowling this season, the Rebels have a decorated history in some of College Football’s most famous bowl games. From going to their first bowl game in 1936 to the Sugar Bowl victory in 2015, the Rebels rank 10th in the NCAA in bowl victories with 23. The Rebels have won games and set records that will stand the test of time. From Conerly to Manning and Vaught to Freeze, Ole Miss legends have made names for themselves in bowl games over the years. So, instead of an actual bowl this year, let us take you back to some of the most memorable bowl victories in Ole Miss history.

Rebels 1960 Sugar Bowl Program
1960 Sugar Bowl Program

The Rebels were back in the Big Easy for the Sugar Bowl after the 1959 regular season in which the Rebels went 10-1. The lone loss of the season was to LSU, a game that ended 7-3. The only touchdown scored on that Halloween night was an 89-yard punt return by LSU’s Heisman Trophy winner Billy Cannon. Fate matched the Rebels against the Tigers once again for the Sugar Bowl, and the Rebels were ready for their revenge. 

A scoreless first quarter had this matchup looking like the defensive slugfest from just two months prior, but the Rebels got the scoring going in the second quarter and took a 7-0 lead into the half. A low scoring affair, the Rebel defense wasn’t going to let Cannon take this game away from them. Cannon was held to just 8 yards on six carries as the Rebel defense was able to bottle up the Heisman Trophy winner. Struggling on the ground and in the air, the Tiger offense was only able to garner 74 total yards of offense. While the defense did their job, the offense began to take control of the game. QB Bobby Franklin threw two second-half TDs, one in each quarter as the Rebels took a commanding 21-0 lead. 

Time expired, and the Rebels were Sugar Bowl champions once again, and the accolades didn’t stop there. The Rebels were named National Champions by Berryman, Billingsley, Dunkel and Sagarin ratings. The 1959 team was also named “Team of the Decade” within the SEC by the Associated Press.

For video of the 1960 Sugar Bowl, see below:

Steven Gagliano is a writer for HottyToddy.com. He can be reached at steven.gagliano@hottytoddy.com.

Follow HottyToddy.com on Instagram, Twitter and Snapchat @hottytoddynews. Like its Facebook page: If You Love Oxford and Ole Miss…

Most Popular

Recent Comments

scamasdscamith on News Watch Ole Miss
Frances Phillips on A Bigger, Better Student Union
Grace Hudditon on A Bigger, Better Student Union
Millie Johnston on A Bigger, Better Student Union
Binary options + Bitcoin = $ 1643 per week: https://8000-usd-per-day.blogspot.com.tr?b=46 on Beta Upsilon Chi: A Christian Brotherhood
Jay Mitchell on Reflections: The Square
Terry Wilcox SFCV USA RET on Oxford's Five Guys Announces Opening Date
Stephanie on Throwback Summer
organized religion is mans downfall on VP of Palmer Home Devotes Life to Finding Homes for Children
Paige Williams on Boyer: Best 10 Books of 2018
Keith mansel on Cleveland On Medgar Evans