Thursday, March 23, 2023

Saiz Named Most Outstanding Player In Mississippi, Wins C Spire Howell Award

Sebastian Saiz – Photo by Danny Dickey

Sebastian Saiz has been awarded the 2017 C Spire Howell Award. The award, named for Hall of Famer and Mississippi native, Bailey Howell, is awarded each year to the “most outstanding” college basketball player across the state of Mississippi. 
The award is voted upon by media members across the state, and the remaining 10 percent of the vote is decided by the fans. 
Averaging 15.1 PPG and 10.9 rebounds on the year, the senior from Madrid has become one of the most productive players in Ole Miss basketball history. This season alone Saiz has posted 18 double-doubles and leads the SEC in rebounding. Earlier in the year, Saiz became one of just two players in school history to score over 1,000 points and grab 900 rebounds. 
This marks the fifth year in a row that the award has been received by a Rebel. Marshall Henderson started the streak in 2013, followed by Jarvis Summers. Stefan Moody took home the award in both 2015 and 2016. 
Saiz’s senior season isn’t over yet, as the Rebels will look to string together a few wins in the SEC tournament and receive an invitation to the upcoming NCAA tournament. The Rebels will be back on the floor on Thursday to take on the winner of Auburn/Missouri. 

Steven Gagliano is a writer for He can be reached at
Follow on Instagram, Twitter and Snapchat @hottytoddynews. Like its Facebook page: If You Love Oxford and Ole Miss…