Thursday, June 8, 2023

2017-18 Northwest Cheer Squad Announced

Twenty students at Northwest Mississippi Community College have been selected as Ranger cheerleaders for the 2017-18 season, according to cheer coach and sponsor Liesl Mote.

Tryouts were held at the McLendon Center on the Senatobia campus April 28-29.

Students selected for this year’s squad are: Callaghan Basil, Zabian Blanchard, Satsha Burden, Caitlyn Dora, Lindsey Douglas, Sarah Ewing, Olivia Fields, Julian Gray, Landyn Hoover, Erin James, Tori Beth Jenkins, Morgan Jones, Lauren Marshall, Kentareus McNeal, Betsy Merrell, Tyler Randle, McKenzie Richardson, Alexis Redd and Kelsey Taylor.

This year’s mascot is Tillman McMahon and team captains are Kelsey Taylor and Sarah Ewing.

The Ranger cheerleaders are a non-competitive squad that cheers at all football games and all home basketball games. They travel with sporting teams to regular season games, playoff games and tournaments. Scholarships are available for those participating in cheerleading.

For more information, contact Mote at (662) 562-3899 or email


Courtesy of Kevin Maloney and Northwest
For more questions or comments email us at
Follow on Instagram, Twitter and Snapchat @hottytoddynews. Like its Facebook page: If You Love Oxford and Ole Miss…