Friday, June 25, 2021

On the Ballot: What Lafayette County Voters Will See on Tuesday’s Ballot

By Alyssa Schnugg
News Editor

Voters will head to the polls Tuesday for local and state elections.

Locally, Lafayette County voters will be electing a Chancery and Circuit Court Judge and a Lafayette County school board member.

Incumbent Kelly Luther is seeking to retain his seat as Third District Circuit Court Judge against Holly Springs attorney Shirley Byers.

In the Chancery Court race, three attorneys are hoping to replace current Chancery Court Judge Glenn Alderson who is not seeking re-election – Lawrence “Larry” Little, Carnelia Fondren and Sarah P. Liddy.

Lafayette County School Board member Leroy Thompson is also seeking to keep his seat on the board and will face challenger Mike Gooch. Voters living inside the city limits of Oxford will not see this election on their ballot.

In the First Congressional District, which includes Lafayette County, incumbent U.S. Rep. Trent Kelly, a Republican, will face Democrat Randy Mack Watkins and Reform Party candidate Tracella Lou O’Hara Hill.

Mississippi voters will choose between Democrat Mike Espy, Republican Cindy Hyde-Smith and Republican Chris McDaniel in a U.S. Senate special election; there will be no partisan identifications on the ballot for the special.

If no one receives a majority in the special election, the top two candidates will compete in a Nov. 27 runoff.

Mississippi’s other U.S. Senate seat, in which Democrat David Baria seeks to unseat incumbent Republican Sen. Roger Wicker, is also on the ballot.

Polls are open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. in Mississippi. Voters must bring a valid form of photo identification such as a driver’s license or a student ID.

For a printable version of the ballot, visit