58.9 F

Oxford High English Teacher Wins OSD Teacher of the Year

By Alyssa Schnugg
News Editor

Brittany Franks was named OSD Teacher of the Year recently. Photo provided by the OSD

Oxford High School English teacher Brittany Franks was awarded the Oxford School District Teacher of Year Monday night during the OSD Board of Trustee’s regular meeting.

Franks has been with the OSD as an English 2 teacher since 2017 and started her teaching career in 2011. She earned her bachelor’s degree in English at the University of Mississippi and is a National Board Certified teacher.

She’s also the director of OHS’s first writing center, Writer’s Block.

Assistant Superintendent Bradley Roberson read an excerpt from Frank’s nomination letter that was written by one of the administrators at OHS.

“(Franks) creates a learning environment for students that is engaging and inviting. She takes the time to develop a relationship with her students in order to build trust to help ensure they will connect to the content and gain an understanding that will benefit their path in education and in life,” Roberson read.

As part of the annual teacher recognition program, each school in the district honors a Teacher of the Year. Franks was selected in December as the OHS Teacher of the Year.

The Faculty Advisory Council then selected Franks as the OSD Teacher of the Year for the entire district from the list of seven teachers who were selected as Teachers of the Year for their respective schools.

Those teachers are: Brittany Hendrix, Bramlett Elementary; Mary Beth Sellers, Oxford Elementary; LaJeremy Hughes, Della Davidson; Carolyn Murphy, Oxford Intermediate; Kesha Howell-Atkinson, Oxford Middle School; and Barbara Wortham; Oxford Learning Center.

Frank’s application will be forwarded to the Mississippi Department of Education to compete for the Mississippi Teacher of the Year.

Superintendent Brian Harvey also announced Yolanda Logan, principal of the Oxford Learning Center, as the OSD Administrator of the Year.

Logan has worked in education since 1991 and with the OSD since 2008. She earned her bachelor’s degree in chemistry at Tougaloo College and her master’s degree in curriculum and instruction at the University of Mississippi.

The Administrator of the Year is decided by a straight vote from all administrators in the school district. Harvey read some of the comments made about Logan from her fellow principals and administrators.

“Ms. Logan does a fantastic job serving students who need extra love and support … She’s always looking at innovative ways for her staff and faculty can meet their students’ ever-changing needs … She is changing kids’ lives,” Harvey read.

Harvey congratulated all the teachers receiving awards Monday night and thanked them for their commitment to the OSD and its students.

Most Popular

Recent Comments

scamasdscamith on News Watch Ole Miss
Frances Phillips on A Bigger, Better Student Union
Grace Hudditon on A Bigger, Better Student Union
Millie Johnston on A Bigger, Better Student Union
Binary options + Bitcoin = $ 1643 per week: https://8000-usd-per-day.blogspot.com.tr?b=46 on Beta Upsilon Chi: A Christian Brotherhood
Jay Mitchell on Reflections: The Square
Terry Wilcox SFCV USA RET on Oxford's Five Guys Announces Opening Date
Stephanie on Throwback Summer
organized religion is mans downfall on VP of Palmer Home Devotes Life to Finding Homes for Children
Paige Williams on Boyer: Best 10 Books of 2018
Keith mansel on Cleveland On Medgar Evans