Sunday, August 14, 2022

Mayor’s Race Down to Two Candidates After Third Withdraws

Voters will decide between two candidates in the Oxford mayoral election since Republican candidate Kyle Davis withdrew his candidacy Friday.

According to the City Clerk’s Office, Davis withdrew “due to a recent employment opportunity.”

The mayor’s race will now be between current Mayor Robyn Tannehill and Brandon Pettis. Both candidates are running as independents.

The Municipal General Election will be 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. on June 8, and all votes will be cast at the Oxford Conference Center, 102 Ed Perry Blvd.

Oxonians will cast their votes to choose a mayor, as well as to fill several seats on the Board of Aldermen.

Absentee voting will be open until noon on June 3.

Those who wish to cast an absentee vote must bring a valid photo ID to City Hall where a voting area has been set up in the lobby.

Here is a list of the candidates in each Ward:

  • Ward 2: incumbent Alderman Mark Huelse (R) faces Democratic candidate Afton Thomas.
  • Ward 3: Democrat Brian Hyneman runs against Republican candidate L.McQueen Miscamble. There is no incumbent in the race as current Alderman Janice Antonow did not seek re-election.
  • Ward 5: incumbent Alderman Preston Taylor (D) faces Republican candidate Barney Chadwick.
  • Ward 6: incumbent Alderman Jason Bailey (R) faces Democratic candidate Miguel Centellas.
  • At-large: incumbent Alderman John Morgan (I) runs against Democrat candidate Linda Porter Bishop.

Ward 1 Alderman Ricky Addy has no opponents and won the April 6 primary election. Ward 4 Alderman Kesha Howell-Atkinson also has no opponents.

To request a mail-in absentee ballot, call 662-232-2350 or email or

For questions about which ward you live in, call the Lafayette County Circuit Court Clerk’s Office at 662-234-4951.

//The following lines allow infolinks to place their ads - Inserted 6/17/2022 // End infolinks tracing pixel