54 F

Five Ole Miss Rebels Named AP All-SEC

Photo by Seph Anderson / HottyToddy.com
Photo by Seph Anderson / HottyToddy.com

OXFORD, Miss. – Led by junior safety Cody Prewitt, five members of the Ole Miss football team received All-SEC distinction from the Associated Press on Monday.

Prewitt was named to the All-SEC first team as a safety. The Bay Springs, Miss., native has started 11 of 12 games at free safety and helped Ole Miss finish the regular season with a 7-5 record and a berth in the Franklin American Mortgage Music City Bowl. Prewitt’s six interceptions lead the SEC and are tied for fourth-most by any player in the country. He leads or shares the team lead with 70 tackles, six interceptions and 13 passes defended, while he also has 4.0 TFLs and two forced fumbles.

Four Rebels made the AP All-SEC second team – offensive lineman Laremy Tunsil, tight end Evan Engram and linebackers Serderius Bryant and Denzel Nkemdiche.

Tunsil, a freshman from Lake City, Fla., is one of two true freshmen in the nation to be his team’s full-time starting left tackle and the only one in the SEC. He has surrendered only one sack all year while protecting Bo Wallace’s blind side. The 6-foot-5, 315-pound phenom has played in every game and started nine.

Engram was catching passes at a record pace for a Rebel tight end before his true freshman season was derailed with an ankle injury after just seven games. The Powder Springs, Ga., native still managed to catch 20 passes for 265 yards and set an Ole Miss freshman tight end record with three touchdown grabs, while starting five of seven games.

Tunsil and Engram are the first true freshmen in school history to receive All-SEC honors. They are two of four freshmen named All-SEC this year along with Florida CB Vernon Hargreaves and Arkansas TE Hunter Henry.

Bryant, a junior from Sanford, Fla., was named All-SEC for the first time in his career. Despite missing two games, he is tied with Prewitt for the team lead with 70 tackles, while leading the squad with 10.5 TFLs. He also has 3.0 sacks and two forced fumbles. He is tied for fifth among SEC players with 1.05 TFLs per game.

Nkemdiche received All-SEC distinction for the second straight year. A sophomore from Loganville, Ga., he has missed three games this year due to injury but still tallied 34 tackles, 2.0 TFLs, a forced fumble and a fumble recovery.

Auburn’s Tre Mason was named Offensive Player of the Year, Missouri’s Michael Sam was named Defensive Player of the Year, Arkansas’ Alex Collins was tabbed Freshman of the Year, and Auburn’s Gus Malzahn was named Coach of the Year after directing one of the biggest turnarounds in the history of college football.

Ole Miss will play in the Franklin American Mortgage Music City Bowl on Dec. 30 in Nashville, Tenn. The Rebels will square off against the Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets (7-5) for the fourth time ever and the third time in postseason play.


FIRST TEAM   Offense  

WR – Jordan Matthews, Vanderbilt, 6-3, 205, Sr.

WR – Mike Evans, Texas A&M, 6-5, 225, So.

L – Gabe Jackson, Mississippi State, 6-4, 340, Sr.

L – Cyrus Kouandjio, Alabama, 6-6, 310, Jr.

L – Jake Matthews, Texas A&M, 6-5, 305, Sr.

L – t-Justin Britt, Missouri, 6-6, 315, Sr.

L – t-Greg Robinson, Auburn, 6-5, 320, So.

L – t-Anthony Steen, Alabama, 6-3, 309, Sr.

C – Travis Swanson, Arkansas, 6-5, 315, Sr.

QB – Johnny Manziel, Texas A&M, 6-1, 210, So.

RB – u-Tre Mason, Auburn, 5-10, 205, Jr.

RB – Jeremy Hill, LSU, 6-2, 235, So.

K – Marshall Morgan, Georgia, 6-3, 200, So.

All-Purpose – Odell Beckham Jr., LSU, 6-0, 193, Jr. Defense  

E – u-Michael Sam, Missouri, 6-2, 255, Sr.

E – Dee Ford, Auburn, 6-2, 240, Sr.

T – Kelcy Quarles, South Carolina, 6-4, 298, Jr.

E – t-Jadeveon Clowney, South Carolina, 6-6, 274, Jr.

E – t-Kony Ealy, Missouri, 6-5, 275, Jr.

LB – u-C.J. Mosley, Alabama, 6-2, 232, Sr.

LB – Ramik Wilson, Georgia, 6-2, 232, Jr.

LB – A.J. Johnson, Tennessee, 6-2, 243, Jr.

CB – E.J. Gaines, Missouri, 5-11, 195, Sr.

CB – Vernon Hargreaves III, Florida, 5-11, 192, Fr.

S – Cody Prewitt, Ole Miss, 6-2, 220, Jr.

S – Kenny Ladler, Vanderbilt, 6-1, 205, Sr.

P – Cody Mandell, Alabama, 6-3, 213, Sr.




WR – Jarvis Landry, LSU, 6-1, 195, Jr.

WR – Dorial Green-Beckham, Missouri, 6-6, 225, So.

L – Ja’Waun James, Tennessee, 6-6, 316, Sr.

L – t-Wesley Johnson, Vanderbilt, 6-5, 295, Sr.

L – t-Antonio Richardson, Tennessee, 6-6, 327, Jr.

L – t-Laremy Tunsil, Ole Miss, 6-5, 315, Fr. 

L – t-Trai Turner, LSU, 6-3, 316, So.

C – Reese Dismukes, Auburn, 6-3, 297, Jr.

TE – t-Evan Engram, Ole Miss, 6-3, 217, Fr.

TE – t-Hunter Henry, Arkansas, 6-6, 250, Fr.

TE – t-C.J. Uzomah, Auburn, 6-4, 258, Jr.

QB – Aaron Murray, Georgia, 6-1, 208, Sr.

RB – T.J. Yeldon, Alabama, 6-2, 218, So.

RB – t-Todd Gurley, Georgia, 6-1, 232, So.

RB – t-Mike Davis, South Carolina, 5-9, 215, So.

K – Zach Hocker, Arkansas, 6-0, 191, Sr.

All-Purpose – Christion Jones, Alabama, 5-11, 185, Jr. Defense

E – Alvin Dupree, Kentucky, 6-4, 252, Jr.

T – Anthony Johnson, LSU, 6-3, 294, Jr.

E – Dante Fowler Jr., Florida, 6-3, 266, So.

LB – Avery Williamson, Kentucky, 6-1, 238, Sr.

LB – t-Lamin Barrow, LSU, 6-23, 232, Sr.

LB – t-Serderius Bryant, Ole Miss, 5-9, 215, Jr.

LB – t-Trey DePriest, Alabama, 6-2, 245, Jr.

LB – t-Sharrod Golightly, South Carolina, 5-10, 195, Jr.

LB – t-Denzel Nkemdiche, Ole Miss, 5-11, 207, So.

LB – t-Andrew Wilson, Missouri, 6-3, 240, So.

CB – Andre Hal, Vanderbilt, 6-0, 186, Sr.

CB – t-Chris Davis, Auburn, 5-11, 200, Sr.

CB – t-Victor Hampton, South Carolina, 5-10, 202, Jr.

CB – t-Loucheiz Purifoy, Florida, 6-0, 190, Jr.

S – Ha Ha Clinton-Dix, Alabama, 6-1, 208, Jr. S – Landon Collins, Alabama, 6-0, 215, So.

P – Drew Kaser, Texas A&M, 6-3, 205, So.



Nick Marshall, QB, Auburn, 6-1, 210, Jr.; AJ McCarron, QB, Alabama, 6-4, 214, Sr.; Zach Mettenberger, QB, LSU, 6-5, 235, Sr. Defense

Steven Clark, P, Auburn, 6-5, 230, Sr.; Ego Ferguson, T, LSU, 6-3, 309, Jr.; Markus Golden, E, Missouri, 6-3, 260, Jr.; Brandon Ivory, T, Alabama, 6-4, 310, Jr.; Chris Jones, T, Mississippi St., 6-5, 305, Fr.; Craig Loston, S, LSU, 6-2, 209, Sr.; Michael Palardy, P, Tennessee, 5-11, 185, Sr.; Vinnie Sunseri, S, Alabama, 6-0, 210, Jr.; Robenson Therezie, S, Auburn, 5-9, 204, Jr.; Nickoe Whitley, S, Mississippi St., 6-1, 205, Sr.; Gabe Wright, T, Auburn, 6-3, 296, Jr.




Michael Sam, Missouri COACH OF THE YEAR  

Gus Malzahn, Auburn FRESHMAN OF THE YEAR  

Alex Collins, Arkansas

— Ole Miss Sports Information

Adam Brown
Adam Brown
Sports Editor

Most Popular

Recent Comments

scamasdscamith on News Watch Ole Miss
Frances Phillips on A Bigger, Better Student Union
Grace Hudditon on A Bigger, Better Student Union
Millie Johnston on A Bigger, Better Student Union
Binary options + Bitcoin = $ 1643 per week: https://8000-usd-per-day.blogspot.com.tr?b=46 on Beta Upsilon Chi: A Christian Brotherhood
Jay Mitchell on Reflections: The Square
Terry Wilcox SFCV USA RET on Oxford's Five Guys Announces Opening Date
Stephanie on Throwback Summer
organized religion is mans downfall on VP of Palmer Home Devotes Life to Finding Homes for Children
Paige Williams on Boyer: Best 10 Books of 2018
Keith mansel on Cleveland On Medgar Evans