Saturday, January 28, 2023

A Thrilling End to the BCS-Era

Florida State snaps the SEC winning streak at seven straight BCS National Titles

bcs-champion-odds-2014-1024x581The Florida State Seminoles win the final BCS National Championship over the Auburn Tigers in thrilling fashionMonday night, by the score of 34-31.

Heisman Quarterback Jameis Winston led the Noles down the field for an 80-yard touchdown drive that eventual proved to be the game winner with thirteen seconds remaining in the game.
Auburn had an early led 21-3 over Florida State in the second quarter, until coach Jimbo Fisher had his team run a fake punt on fourth down and three on their on end of the field and where successful. The Seminoles would then find the end zone for the first-time on the night cutting the Tigers led down to 21-10 at the half.
In the third quarter, both team’s defenses dug in for a battle as only a field goaled was allowed to be put on the board in favor of Florida State.
Then the fireworks began in the fourth quarter, as the Seminoles would end up out scoring Auburn by a margin of 21-10 to close out the game. The Tigers gave up an 11-yard touchdown pass from Winston to Chad Abram to trim their lead down to one point.  Auburn then would go back up by the score of 24-20 off a 22-yard field goal by Cody Parkey.
The four point led would not last long as Levonte Whitfield ran back a kick-off 100-yards to put FSU back on top 27-24.  Running back Tre Mason then would find the end zone again for the Tigers to go ahead 31-27 with just a little over a minute and change left to go in the game.
The rest was history as the Seminoles put an end to the seven-straight national championships for the Southeastern Conference and a prefect season for Florida State in the record books.
Auburn finished the year with a record of 11-2 and Florida State 14-0.
— Adam Brown is the Sports Editor of