Thursday, August 11, 2022

OSD Receives Beacon Award from Mississippi School Boards Association

Pictured (left to right) are MSBA President Etta Taplin; OSD Board President Whitney Byars; OSD Board Member Marian Barksdale; OSD Board Secretary Romana Reed; OSD Superintendent Brian Harvey; MSBA Vice-President Sondra Odom; and MSBA Secretary David Duncan. / Photo from Mississippi School Boards Association

The Oxford School District (OSD) is among 59 Mississippi school districts that were recognized by the Mississippi School Boards Association (MSBA) recently with an award for outstanding student achievement, based on student performance last spring on testing requirements in the Mississippi accountability program. Oxford School District Board members were on hand for the special awards luncheon at the 2014 MSBA Lighthouse School Leader Awards Program.
The Oxford School District was honored with 18 other school districts in the Beacon category of the MSBA Lighthouse School Leader awards. The Beacon Award recognizes school districts that have an overall grade of ‘A’, and no schools below ‘C’, based on State Accountability Standards administered by the Mississippi Department of Education. Approximately 350 school board members and superintendents across the state attended the MSBA Lighthouse School Leaders Awards Luncheon in Jackson.
The MSBA Lighthouse School Leader Awards Program was established by the Mississippi School Boards Association in 2003 in recognition of the unsung efforts of school districts to meet more rigorous state and federal accountability standards.
Courtesy of Oxford School District

//The following lines allow infolinks to place their ads - Inserted 6/17/2022 // End infolinks tracing pixel