52.8 F

Rebels’ Brooke Feldmeier Tabbed SEC Outdoor Freshman Runner of the Year

For the second time in 2015, Ole Miss’ Brooke Feldmeier has been named Southeastern Conference Women’s Freshman Runner of the Year.

The Olympia, Washington, native earned the same honor after the indoor season in March and was again named the league’s best women’s freshman runner Tuesday in a vote by the SEC head coaches.

Feldmeier has had a remarkable outdoor season on the track, highlighted by her SEC title in the 800 meters at the league championships in Starkville, Mississippi, last month. And then last weekend at the NCAA East Preliminary in Jacksonville, Florida, she broke her own school record in the 800 by running 2:03.13 to advance to the NCAA Championships in Eugene, Oregon.

Feldmeier currently ranks fourth in the junior world rankings with that time of 2:03.13, and 87th in the overall world rankings. She is Ole Miss’ first freshman woman to ever win an SEC title and the first Ole Miss woman to claim a league title in the 800.

This has all come on the heels of her indoor season in which she was SEC runner-up and placed eighth at the NCAA Championships to earn first team All-America honors.

Perhaps the most remarkable aspect of her accomplishments is that Feldmeier came to Ole Miss as a multi-event athlete and was only switched to the 800 about a month prior to the start of the 2015 indoor season.

This continues an impressive string of SEC postseason awards for the Rebels under head coach Brian O’Neal. Previous award winners include:

2015 SEC Women’s Indoor Freshman Runner of the Year: Brooke Feldmeier
2014 SEC Men’s Cross Country Co-Freshman of the Year: Sean Tobin
2014 SEC Men’s Outdoor Field Athlete of the Year: Ricky Robertson
2014 SEC Men’s Indoor Field Athlete of the Year: Sam Kendricks
2014 SEC Men’s Co-Freshman Runner of the Year: Sean Tobin
2013 SEC Men’s Outdoor Runner of the Year: Isiah Young

Feldmeier is one of a school-record 17 Ole Miss athletes that have qualified for the upcoming NCAA Outdoor Championships, which will take place June 10-13 in Eugene.

For more information on Ole Miss Track & Field, follow the Rebels on Twitter at @OleMissTrack, as well as Facebook andInstagram. And follow Coach O’Neal at @CoachBrianOneal.

2015 SEC Outdoor Track and Field Awards

Men’s Runner of the Year: Deon Lendore, Texas A&M
Men’s Field Athlete of the Year: Marquis Dendy, Florida
Men’s Co-Freshman Runner of the Year: Kenzo Cotton, Arkansas
Men’s Co-Freshman Runner of the Year: Christian Coleman, Tennessee
Men’s Freshman Field Athlete of the Year: Ioannis Kyriazis, Texas A&M

Women’s Runner of the Year: Dominique Scott, Arkansas
Women’s Field Athlete of the Year: Erica Bougard, Mississippi State
Women’s Freshman Runner of the Year: Brooke Feldmeier, Ole Miss
Women’s Freshman Field Athlete of the Year: Keturah Orji, Georgia

Men’s Coach of the Year: Mike Holloway, Florida
Women’s Coach of the Year: Lance Harter, Arkansas

Men’s Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Nathanael Franks, Arkansas
Women’s Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Jeannelle Scheper, South Carolina

Courtesy Ole Miss Communications

Most Popular

Recent Comments

scamasdscamith on News Watch Ole Miss
Frances Phillips on A Bigger, Better Student Union
Grace Hudditon on A Bigger, Better Student Union
Millie Johnston on A Bigger, Better Student Union
Binary options + Bitcoin = $ 1643 per week: https://8000-usd-per-day.blogspot.com.tr?b=46 on Beta Upsilon Chi: A Christian Brotherhood
Jay Mitchell on Reflections: The Square
Terry Wilcox SFCV USA RET on Oxford's Five Guys Announces Opening Date
Stephanie on Throwback Summer
organized religion is mans downfall on VP of Palmer Home Devotes Life to Finding Homes for Children
Paige Williams on Boyer: Best 10 Books of 2018
Keith mansel on Cleveland On Medgar Evans
Albert Moore on