Monday, May 29, 2023

Summer Baseball Begins for 14 Diamond Rebels

Photo courtesy Joshua McCoy, Ole Miss Athletics

The Ole Miss baseball team will have 14 Rebels play in various leagues this summer. The Diamond Rebels will be competing in five different summer collegiate baseball leagues across the country from Massachusetts to Alaska.

Six Rebels will take their talents to the Cape Cod Baseball League, one of the oldest summer baseball leagues in the nation. Tate Blackman, Wyatt Short and J.B. Woodman will remain teammates throughout the summer as members of the Falmouth Commodores. Meanwhile, the starting left side of the infield will stay intact as third baseman Colby Bortles and shortstopErrol Robinson will play for the Hyannis Harbor Hawks. Rounding out the Rebels in the Cod League, left-handed pitcher Evan Anderson will see action for the Harwich Mariners.

After seeing time on the diamond in their first season at Ole Miss, a trio of Rebels will compete in the Cal Ripken League. Will Golsan, Nic Perkins and Will Stokes will spend their summer on the Baltimore Redbirds. Over 4,000 miles away from Oxford, three more Rebels will join the Alaska Baseball League; Drake Robison, Joe Wainhouse and Kyle Watson will all be playing for the Anchorage Bucs.

In the Texas Collegiate League, the Brazos Valley Bombers will have Rebel catcher Henri Lartigue for the summer. Also, after redshirting during his freshman season at Ole Miss, Michael Fitzsimmons will make his way to the Perfect Game Collegiate League, playing for the Albany Dutchmen.

Ole Miss Baseball Player
Evan Anderson Harwich Mariners Cape Cod
Tate Blackman Falmouth Commodores Cape Cod
Colby Bortles Hyannis Harbor Hawks Cape Cod
Michael Fitzsimmons Albany Dutchmen Perfect Game
Will Golsan Baltimore Redbirds Cal Ripken
Henri Lartigue Texas Collegiate League Brazos Valley Bombers
Nic Perkins Baltimore Redbirds Cal Ripken
Errol Robinson Hyannis Harbor Hawks Cape Cod
Drake Robison Anchorage Bucs Alaska
Wyatt Short Falmouth Commodores Cape Cod
Will Stokes Baltimore Redbirds Cal Ripken
Joe Wainhouse Anchorage Bucs Alaska
Kyle Watson Anchorage Bucs Alaska
J.B. Woodman Falmouth Commodores Cape Cod
Courtesy Ole Miss Athletics