50.8 F

Former Ole Miss Standout Ken Lucas Named SEC Legend

2000 All-America defensive back Ken Lucas (Photo courtesy Ole Miss Athletics)

Former Ole Miss All-American Ken Lucas is among 14 football greats honored by the Southeastern Conference as the 2015 SEC Football Legends class, the league office announced Tuesday.

The collection of former football standouts will be honored at events surrounding the SEC Football Championship Game in Atlanta in December. This year’s class includes All-Americans, All-SEC selections and Academic All-Americans as well as NCAA and SEC record holders. The group represents teams that won National and SEC Championships and are represented in state, school and college football halls of fame.

Read bios of each member here.

As a senior in 2000, Lucas earned All-America and All-SEC honors, leading the nation with an Ole Miss-record 30 passes defended while also leading the Rebels with five interceptions. In 2000 he anchored a secondary that ranked first in the SEC and ninth nationally in pass efficiency defense.

A native of Cleveland, Mississippi, Lucas was a Rebel letterman from 1997-2000 and helped lead Ole Miss to four straight bowl games. He was selected in the second round of the 2001 NFL Draft by the Seattle Seahawks and played five years with the Seahawks and four years with the Carolina Panthers. He finished his NFL career with 529 tackles and 25 interceptions.

Lucas was inducted into the Ole Miss M-Club Athletics Hall of Fame last year.

Other members of the 2015 SEC Football Legends class are Alabama’s Woodrow Lowe (LB, 1972-75), Arkansas’ Madre Hill (RB, 1994-95; 1998), Auburn’s Takeo Spikes (LB, 1995-97), Florida’s Fred Taylor (RB, 1994-97), Georgia’s Richard Seymour (DT, 1997-2000), Kentucky’s Dave Roller (DL, 1968-70), LSU’s Alan Faneca (OG, 1995-97), Mississippi State’s Mario Haggan (LB, 1998-2002), Missouri’s Roger Wehrli (DB, 1966-68), South Carolina’s Andre’ Goodman (CB, 1997-2001), Tennessee’s Chuck Smith (DE, 1990-91), Texas A&M’s Bubba Bean (RB, 1972-75) and Vanderbilt’s Earl Bennett (WR, 2005-07).

The class will be honored at the 2015 SEC Football “Weekend of Champions” Dec. 4-5 in Atlanta, Georgia. The annual SEC Legends Dinner presented by AT&T will be held Dec. 4 at the Hyatt Regency in Atlanta and the group will also be recognized prior to the SEC Football Championship Game, which will be held at the Georgia Dome on Sat., Dec. 5.

Story and photo courtesy Ole Miss Athletics

Most Popular

Recent Comments

scamasdscamith on News Watch Ole Miss
Frances Phillips on A Bigger, Better Student Union
Grace Hudditon on A Bigger, Better Student Union
Millie Johnston on A Bigger, Better Student Union
Binary options + Bitcoin = $ 1643 per week: https://8000-usd-per-day.blogspot.com.tr?b=46 on Beta Upsilon Chi: A Christian Brotherhood
Jay Mitchell on Reflections: The Square
Terry Wilcox SFCV USA RET on Oxford's Five Guys Announces Opening Date
Stephanie on Throwback Summer
organized religion is mans downfall on VP of Palmer Home Devotes Life to Finding Homes for Children
Paige Williams on Boyer: Best 10 Books of 2018
Keith mansel on Cleveland On Medgar Evans
Stonewall Jackson on SASI Demands UM Administrati