60.1 F

Diamond Rebels Set for Annual Pizza Bowl

Photo courtesy of Ole Miss Athletics
Photo courtesy of Ole Miss Athletics

The final week of the fall season for the Ole Miss baseball team is here, which means it’s time to play for pizza. The Diamond Rebels will conclude fall ball with the annual Pizza Bowl, a best-of-three intrasquad series that will have bragging rights and delicious pizza on the line.

The 2015 Pizza Bowl will begin Thursday, Oct. 29, with a 3 p.m. first pitch. Game two will follow Friday at 3 p.m. If the series is tied after the first two contests, the deciding third game will take place on Halloween at 1 p.m., Oct. 31. The Pizza Bowl games at Oxford-University Stadium/Swayze Field are open to the public and admission is free.

Managing this year’s teams is the returning left side of the Rebels’ infield; junior third baseman Colby Bortles will manage the Red team, while junior shortstop Errol Robinson will lead the Blue squad. Both managers selected their teammates in the 2015 Pizza Bowl Draft Monday afternoon. Robinson won the coin toss and elected to take home field advantage (home team in game one and, if necessary, game three), giving Bortles the first pick in the draft. With the first pick in the 2015 Pizza Bowl Draft, Team Bortles selected catcher Henri Lartigue, the returning Rebel who has the most experience behind the plate. The teams can be found below.

There are some guidelines for the Pizza Bowl. Pitchers will be held to a five-inning max and can make two appearances in the series if they pitch less than three innings in both outings. Any pitcher throwing more than three innings during a game will be done for the series. Pitchers that go 1-3 innings in an outing will require one day off, while those pitching less than an inning of work do not need to rest. Position players must have at least one at bat per game. The winning team will be rewarded with pizza, courtesy of the opposing team, while the losing team will have to run.

For more information on Ole Miss Baseball, follow the Rebels on Twitter at @OleMissBSB, on Facebook at Ole Miss Baseball and on Instagram at olemissbsb.

2015 Pizza Bowl Rosters
Blue (Team Robinson) Red (Team Bortles)
Errol Robinson Colby Bortles
Nic Perkins Henri Lartigue
Wyatt Short Austin Sanders
Will Stokes James McArthur
Tate Blackman Kyle Watson
Ray Alejo Ryan Olenek
J.B. Woodman Cameron Dishon
Connor Cloyd Will Golsan
Matt Denny Brian Browning
Dallas Woolfolk Parker Caracci
Michael Fitzsimmons Joe Wainhouse
Andy Pagnozzi Connor Green
David Parkinson Brady Feigl
Nick Fortes Carson Klepzig
DJ Miller Holt Perdzock
Evan Anderson Andrew Lowe
Sean Johnson Brady Bramlett
Micah McHugh Chad Smith
John Creel

Courtesy of Ole Miss Sports Information

Adam Brown
Adam Brown
Sports Editor

Most Popular

Recent Comments

scamasdscamith on News Watch Ole Miss
Frances Phillips on A Bigger, Better Student Union
Grace Hudditon on A Bigger, Better Student Union
Millie Johnston on A Bigger, Better Student Union
Binary options + Bitcoin = $ 1643 per week: https://8000-usd-per-day.blogspot.com.tr?b=46 on Beta Upsilon Chi: A Christian Brotherhood
Jay Mitchell on Reflections: The Square
Terry Wilcox SFCV USA RET on Oxford's Five Guys Announces Opening Date
Stephanie on Throwback Summer
organized religion is mans downfall on VP of Palmer Home Devotes Life to Finding Homes for Children
Paige Williams on Boyer: Best 10 Books of 2018
Keith mansel on Cleveland On Medgar Evans
Kenny Ellis on