72.3 F

Nominations Sought for Annual Sullivan Award

The McLean Institute is seeking nominations for the 2016 Algernon Sydney Sullivan Award.
The McLean Institute is seeking nominations for the 2016 Algernon Sydney Sullivan Award.

The McLean Institute for Public Service and Community Engagement is seeking nominations for the 2016 Algernon Sydney Sullivan Award, which recognizes a University of Mississippi student, alumnus or community member who sets an outstanding example of selfless service to others.

Individuals who volunteer without actively seeking recognition are the prime candidates for this award.

“Recognizing and celebrating service is crucial to the mission of the McLean Institute, which supports transformation through service,” said Albert Nylander, the institute’s director. “The Sullivan Award is an opportunity to honor a student and community member who have made our community a better place because of their humble service to others.”

The awards will be presented at the Celebration of Service at 2 p.m. April 6 in the ballroom at the Inn at Ole Miss.

This is the third year the McLean Institute will present the award at the Celebration of Service event to one student (graduate or undergraduate) and one Ole Miss alumnus or member of the Lafayette-Oxford-University community, including faculty members. The award is presented in partnership with the Algernon Sydney Sullivan Foundation and the Division of Volunteer Services in the Office of the Dean of Students.

“The humble servant is the individual we seek to recognize with the Algernon Sydney Sullivan Award,” said Steve McDavid, president of the Algernon Sydney Sullivan Foundation. “Rather than honoring servant leaders, the Sullivan Award shines light on those whose selfless efforts behind the scenes touch the lives of those in their community. We are fortunate that there are many deserving candidates in the L-O-U community, and we welcome their nominations.”

The Algernon Sydney Sullivan Award was established in 1890 to honor individuals who demonstrate nobility of character through service. The award recognizes those who put service and the community above themselves and who show honesty, morality, ethics, integrity, responsibility, determination, courage and compassion. Prime candidates are those who serve others without seeking recognition.

The award is a bronze medallion along with a framed certificate describing the award. Honorees for 2015 included former Chancellor Dan Jones, Darryail Whittington and D.T. Shackelford.

To nominate someone deserving of recognition for outstanding community service, click here. The deadline for nominations is Feb. 26.

Courtesy of Christina Steube and the Ole Miss News Desk

Adam Brown
Adam Brown
Sports Editor

Most Popular

Recent Comments

scamasdscamith on News Watch Ole Miss
Frances Phillips on A Bigger, Better Student Union
Grace Hudditon on A Bigger, Better Student Union
Millie Johnston on A Bigger, Better Student Union
Binary options + Bitcoin = $ 1643 per week: https://8000-usd-per-day.blogspot.com.tr?b=46 on Beta Upsilon Chi: A Christian Brotherhood
Jay Mitchell on Reflections: The Square
Terry Wilcox SFCV USA RET on Oxford's Five Guys Announces Opening Date
Stephanie on Throwback Summer
organized religion is mans downfall on VP of Palmer Home Devotes Life to Finding Homes for Children
Paige Williams on Boyer: Best 10 Books of 2018
Keith mansel on Cleveland On Medgar Evans
David Barker on