Tuesday, March 28, 2023

Moody Wins Second-Straight C Spire


Senior Stefan Moody has been named the 2016 C Spire Howell Trophy winner, the Mississippi Sports Hall of Fame announced Monday. It is the second-straight year Moody has received the honor.

The Howell Trophy, named for the legendary Bailey Howell, goes to the most outstanding men’s collegiate basketball player in Mississippi. Moody, a native of Kissimmee, Florida, joins Jarvis Varnado as the only two players in the award’s history to win the trophy back-to-back years.

The is the four-straight year a Rebel has been named the state’s top player after Jarvis Summers took home the award in 2014 and Marshall Henderson won the honor in 2013. Moody edged Mississippi State’s Gavin Ware and Quindary Weatherspoon to receive the honor.

The fifth-fastest player in reach 1,000 career points in Ole Miss history, Moody leads the SEC, and ranks ninth nationally, in scoring at 23.1 point per game. He needs only eight points to became only the fifth player in Ole Miss history and the 26th player in SEC history to top 700 points in a season. His 43-point performance against MSU on Senior Night is tied for the highest single-game total in the SEC this year, the 11th highest in nation and the 13th highest in school history. It also marked the most points scored by a Rebel since Gerald Glass dropped 53 on LSU in 1989 and was the most in a league game since Kentucky’s Jodie Meeks scored 45 against Arkansas in 2009.

Moody and the Rebels open SEC Tournament play on Thursday 6 pm against the Alabama.

Courtesy of Ole Miss Sports

Follow HottyToddy.com on Instagram, Twitter and Snapchat @hottytoddynews. Like its Facebook page: If You Love Oxford and Ole Miss…