66.5 F

Oxford-Lafayette Chamber/EDF Hosts Annual Luncheon Meeting

The 2016 Oxford-Lafayette County Chamber of Commerce/EDF held its annual luncheon meeting today at the Inn at Ole Miss. Among attendees were Oxford and Lafayette County businesses and citizens to celebrate the chamber’s accomplishments over the last year.

The meeting gave a chance for Jon Maynard, president and CEO of the chamber of Commerce/EDF, to talk about the great economic achievements that Oxford has experienced in the last year. According to Maynard, Oxford is listed as the top cities to live in the Southeast. Consequently, the chamber is growing and has a total of 690 members and has a goal to reach 700 members this year.

“The Chamber represents the business community in problem solving, promoting economic development, raising the per capita income and providing strong financial resources to create a better life for all citizens,” the chamber said.
The meeting also recognized several outstanding members of the community with a Lifetime Membership, Ambassador of the Quarter, Outstanding Service and the Citizen of the Year Awards.

Former Rep. Noal Atkins (District 12) was presented with the first-ever Lifetime Membership Award from the chamber. Among the ambassadors of the chamber, Michelle McKay won the Ambassador of the Quarter Award for her service to the chamber. Leslie Downs won the Outstanding Service Award for her dedication to service to the community with the Double Decker Spring Run. The Citizen of the Year Award was presented to the family of Captain Max Miller, who passed away earlier this year and was part of the Oxford and Ole Miss community.

The luncheon meeting comes one day before the 2nd Annual Red Carpet Gala fundraiser on May 19, at The Jefferson in Oxford from 7 p.m. to 11 p.m. The gala will feature the Chamber Chef Shuffle, which offers chamber member restaurants to feature food at the annual gala for exposure. Musical guests include The Bouffants, who perform songs by The Jackson Five, Aretha Franklin, Tina Turner, Motown Hits and more. Tickets for the gala are available at olccredcarpetgala.com.

Noal Akins recieves the Lifetime Membership Award.
Noal Akins recieves the Lifetime Membership Award.
Leslie Downs accepts the Outstanding Service Award.
Leslie Downs accepts the Outstanding Service Award.

The family of Captain Max Miller accepts the Citizen of the Year Award in his memory.

Emily Newton is a staff reporter for hottytoddy.com and the editor of Experience Oxford magazine. She can be reached at emily.newton@hottytoddy.com

Follow HottyToddy.com on Instagram, Twitter and Snapchat @hottytoddynews. Like its Facebook page: If You Love Oxford and Ole Miss…

Most Popular

Recent Comments

scamasdscamith on News Watch Ole Miss
Frances Phillips on A Bigger, Better Student Union
Grace Hudditon on A Bigger, Better Student Union
Millie Johnston on A Bigger, Better Student Union
Binary options + Bitcoin = $ 1643 per week: https://8000-usd-per-day.blogspot.com.tr?b=46 on Beta Upsilon Chi: A Christian Brotherhood
Jay Mitchell on Reflections: The Square
Terry Wilcox SFCV USA RET on Oxford's Five Guys Announces Opening Date
Stephanie on Throwback Summer
organized religion is mans downfall on VP of Palmer Home Devotes Life to Finding Homes for Children
Paige Williams on Boyer: Best 10 Books of 2018
Keith mansel on Cleveland On Medgar Evans
Hyungwon on