Saturday, April 1, 2023

Rebel Defensive Player Youngblood Finds Honor in Wearing Chucky Mullins’ Jersey

John Youngblood
John Youngblood

Every season a star defensive player is chosen to carry on the “Never Quit” attitude of beloved late football player Roy Lee “Chucky” Mullins by wearing his jersey number 38.

This year’s recipient of the Chucky Mullins award winner was John Youngblood. Youngblood is a senior defensive end for the Rebels who hails from Trussville, Alabama.

He said, “I came in and saw the guys who had won the award before me and to wear it now… What a huge honor (because of) what Chucky Mullins means to the Ole Miss family. It’s a huge honor to get to continue the tradition.”

Tragically during the Homecoming game back in 1989 against Vanderbilt, Mullins tackled Brad Gaines in such a way that ended his budding football career and left him paralyzed. Since 1990, the year Mullins passed away, the Phi Beta Sigma fraternity at the University of Mississippi began the tradition of giving the Chucky Mullins Courage Award to a defensive player every spring.

Youngblood is the 27th recipient of the award.

Former Chucky Mullins Courage Award recipients are Chris Mitchell, Jeff Carter, Trea Southerland, Johnny Dixon, Alundis Brice, Michael Lowery, Derek Jones, Nate Wayne, Gary Thigpen, Ronnie Heard, Anthony Magee, Kevin Thomas, Lanier Goethie, Jamil Northcutt, Eric Oliver, Kelvin Robinson, Patrick Willis, Jeremy Garrett, Jamarca Sanford, Marcus Tillman, Kentrell Lockett, Deterrian Shackelford (twice), Jason Jones, Mike Marry and Mike Hilton.

“I will always be solidified in Ole Miss history as a Chucky Mullins’ award winner. So it’s definitely a big deal for me and I will always wear the number with honor,” Youngblood said.

Adam Brown is the sports editor for He can be reached at

Follow on Instagram, Twitter and Snapchat @hottytoddynews. Like its Facebook page: If You Love Oxford and Ole Miss…