34.4 F

Coopwood New Chairman Of Community Foundation Board Of Directors

The Community Foundation of Northwest Mississippi is pleased to announce that its Board of Directors has elected Scott Coopwood of Cleveland as its chairman for 2017. The Foundation receives tax-deductible contributions from hundreds of donors to assist dozens of charitable programs and causes, especially education and health for children and youth. The board has at least one director from each of the 11 counties in the Foundation’s service region.
“It is an incredible honor to be chosen as this year’s chairman for Community Foundation of Northwest Mississippi,” said Coopwood. “This unique organization helps better the lives of those who live in the coverage area which includes several counties in the Mississippi Delta and I’m proud to be on board to help move our region into a positive future.”
Other officers for 2017 are Joe Azar of Batesville as vice chairman, Rev. Bartholomew Orr of Southaven as secretary, and Bob Bowen of Tate County as treasurer. Scott Hollis of Olive Branch is the immediate past chairman.
Coopwood is owner and publisher of Delta Magazine, the Delta Business Journal, and The Cleveland Current newspaper as well as owner of Coopwood Communications, an advertising, marketing and public relations firm.
A graduate of the University of Mississippi, Coopwood is a past president of the Cleveland Rotary Club and a Paul Harris Fellow. He has also served as vice president of Delta Council and he currently serves on the boards of Entergy Mississippi, the Magazine Innovation Center at the Meek School of Journalism and New Media at Ole Miss, the Mississippi Economic Council, and several other boards around the state. In 2015, Governor Phil Bryant appointed Coopwood as one of five Commissioners to the Mississippi Department of Wildlife, Fisheries, & Parks and he was confirmed by the Mississippi Senate in April of 2015. Coopwood and his wife, Cindy, have two sons and a daughter. They are members of Covenant Presbyterian Church in Cleveland.
“The Foundation is honored to have a chairman with such deep commitment to our region,” said Community Foundation president Tom Pittman. “With his leadership, the Foundation is establishing a bright future for our region.”
The Community Foundation manages 235 donor-established funds and has distributed $18.3 million to support more than 420 charitable organizations and activities recommended by its donors, as well as charitable programs established by the foundation. Established in 2002 with a generous grant from the Maddox Foundation, the Community Foundation is an independent 501.c.3 charitable organization. The Foundation serves Bolivar, Coahoma, DeSoto, Leflore, Marshall, Panola, Quitman, Sunflower, Tallahatchie, Tate, and Tunica counties. A board of 19 volunteer civic leaders governs the Community Foundation. Learn more about the Community Foundation at www.cfnm.org or call 662.449.5002.

For questions or comments, email hottytoddynews@gmail.com.

Most Popular

Recent Comments

scamasdscamith on News Watch Ole Miss
Frances Phillips on A Bigger, Better Student Union
Grace Hudditon on A Bigger, Better Student Union
Millie Johnston on A Bigger, Better Student Union
Binary options + Bitcoin = $ 1643 per week: https://8000-usd-per-day.blogspot.com.tr?b=46 on Beta Upsilon Chi: A Christian Brotherhood
Jay Mitchell on Reflections: The Square
Terry Wilcox SFCV USA RET on Oxford's Five Guys Announces Opening Date
Stephanie on Throwback Summer
organized religion is mans downfall on VP of Palmer Home Devotes Life to Finding Homes for Children
Paige Williams on Boyer: Best 10 Books of 2018
Keith mansel on Cleveland On Medgar Evans