68.4 F

Week 6 of Election Qualification Period Has 2 New Candidates

By Alyssa Schnugg
News Editor

Editor’s Note: Hottytoddy.com will run an update each Monday (unless a holiday) until March 1 on who qualifies for local elections and on local citizens who qualify for state elections.

Three more local residents have tossed their hats into the election pool in the past week.

Jeff Busby, currently a Lafayette County supervisor, announced he would not be seeking re-election as a supervisor but would be instead, running for Circuit Court Clerk, a position his mother held for 20+ years.

For six weeks, it appeared Busby may run unopposed; however, the last week Karen Curtis Borden qualified to run against Busby. Both Busby and Borden are running as Democrats.

Derek Mooney has entered the Supervisor 4 race against incumbent Chad McLarty (D) and Scott Allen, (D).

In state elections, Oxford resident Geoffrey O. Yoste has qualified to run for the Northern District Public Service Commission against Democrat incumbent Brandon Presley. Jeremy A. Martin and Trey Bowman, who are not from Oxford, have also qualified to run.

Lafayette County Candidates for 2019
Chancery Clerk: Sherry Wall (D), incumbent
Circuit Clerk: Jeff Busby (D) and Karen Curtis Borden (D)
Tax Collector/Assessor: Sylvia Baker (D), incumbent
Sheriff: Joey East (D), Jeffrey Clinton South, (Ind.) and Raymond Westley Sides (D)
County Attorney: Jay Chain (D), incumbent
Coroner: Rocky Kennedy (D), incumbent
Justice Court Judge Southern: Johnny Wayne McLarty, incumbent
Justice Court Judge Central: Mickey Avent (D), incumbent
Justice Court Judge Northern: Incumbent Carolyn Pettis Bell (D), Andy Turner Arant Jr.(R) and Emily Smathers Ratliff (R)
Constable Northern: Greg “Spankey” Pettis, incumbent
Constable Central: Jody Mayfield (D), incumbent
Constable Southern: Jack E. Theobald (D), incumbent
Supervisor District 1: Brent Larson
Supervisors District 2: Max Hill (D), Larry Gillespie (R), J.E. (Ed) Neilson (D), Ava Halon Bonds Gossett (D), Leslie Spense (D), Darryl Booker (D) and Joshua McGlawn (D)
Supervisors District 3: David Rikard, incumbent (R), Cynthia Parham, (D), Dale Timothy Gordon (D), Alonzo Hilliard (D), Davii Jo Chinault (R), Lakeisha Borum (Ind) and Scott Michael (R)
Supervisors District 4: Chad McLarty, incumbent (D), Scott Allen (D) and Derek Mooney (R)
Supervisor District 5: Mike Roberts, incumbent (D) and Johnny Mike Fortner (R)

State Races with local candidates:
Senate District 9: Kevin Frye (D) and Nicole Boyd (R)
House District 12: Tiffany Kilpatrick (D) and Clay Deweese (R)
House District 13: Steve Massengill (R )
House District 23: Charles Beckett( R)
Lt. Gov: Jay Hughes (D), Delbert Hosemann (R) and Shane Quick (R)
Transportation Commissioner of the Northern District: Geoffrey O. Yoste (R), Jeremy A. Martin (R) and Trey Bowman (R)


Most Popular

Recent Comments

scamasdscamith on News Watch Ole Miss
Frances Phillips on A Bigger, Better Student Union
Grace Hudditon on A Bigger, Better Student Union
Millie Johnston on A Bigger, Better Student Union
Binary options + Bitcoin = $ 1643 per week: https://8000-usd-per-day.blogspot.com.tr?b=46 on Beta Upsilon Chi: A Christian Brotherhood
Jay Mitchell on Reflections: The Square
Terry Wilcox SFCV USA RET on Oxford's Five Guys Announces Opening Date
Stephanie on Throwback Summer
organized religion is mans downfall on VP of Palmer Home Devotes Life to Finding Homes for Children
Paige Williams on Boyer: Best 10 Books of 2018
Keith mansel on Cleveland On Medgar Evans