Tuesday, October 4, 2022

OE Mom Named Oxford School District Parent of the Year

By Alyssa Schnugg
News Editor

Tara Denevan was named as the Oxford Elementary Parent of the Year and the District Parent of the Year.
Photo provided by OSD

Several parents were recognized Monday by the Oxford School District Board of Trustees for being Parents of the Year at each school in the district.

However, one mom took home the honor of also being named the District Parent of the Year.

Tara Denevan was named Parent of the Year for Oxford Elementary and also earned the title of the OSD Parent of the Year.

Denevan serves as a member of the OE PTO board and focuses her efforts on fundraising for the school.

“She has been instrumental in the Love Packs food drives and also works as a substitute teacher,” read SuzAnne Liddell, director of federal programs from Denevan’s nomination letter. “Her desire to see a need and assist in any manner is invaluable to our school, our district and our community.”

Liddell said a committee reviews all the nominations and chooses the Parent of the Year from the Parents of the Year from each school.

Other Parents of the Year named Tuesday were: Angela Manley for Bramlett Elementary; Kyle Still from Della Davidson; Mary Beth Austin from Oxford Intermediate School; Mary Margret Case from Oxford Middle School and Lisa Fruge from Oxford High School.

When Denevan’s name was called as the OSD Parent of the Year she looked surprised and said she was standing “next to some of the legends.”

“I volunteer because it’s where my heart is and I truly love being able to help the students and teachers,” she told Hottytoddy.com Tuesday. “I think it is important to be involved and to give back to our school system because our children are able to attend schools in the No. 1 school district in our state for free. If teachers can give 110 percent each day toward these children’s education then we have a job as parents to support them 110 percent. It’s my way of saying thank you to our schools and to our underpaid, hardworking, amazing teachers.”

Liddell congratulated all the winners and thanked them for the dedication to their schools and the districts.


//The following lines allow infolinks to place their ads - Inserted 6/17/2022 // End infolinks tracing pixel