54.5 F

UM Memorial Ceremony Set for May 2

The University String Quartet plays the university’s alma mater during a previous UM Memorial Ceremony. The event is a remembrance of students, faculty, staff, and faculty and staff emeriti lost over the past year. Photo by Robert Jordan/Ole Miss Digital Imaging Services

The University of Mississippi is set to honor the members of the Ole Miss family it lost over the past year at the annual UM Memorial Ceremony.

Each year, the university hosts a ceremony to remember the lives of students, faculty and staff, as well as faculty and staff emeriti, who died during the past year.

This year’s ceremony is set for 4 p.m. Thursday (May 2), at Paris-Yates Chapel. The event is hosted on the final Thursday of spring semester classes.

The memorial ceremony is an occasion for the Ole Miss and LOU communities to come together and celebrate the lives of those who died.

“It’s an opportunity, at the end of each academic year, to honor individuals we’ve lost,” said Brandi Hephner LaBanc, vice chancellor for student affairs. “We come together to pay respect and celebrate their contributions to the university.”

The UM Memorial Ceremony was established by Chancellor Emeritus Robert Khayat. Although the tradition precedes her time at Ole Miss, Hephner LaBanc said she is honored to be part of it each year.

“I think it’s an important tradition for our university; it encourages the notion of family and demonstrates the compassion of our community.”

The ceremony will include opening remarks from Hephner LaBanc, followed by the names of the deceased being read. As each name is read, family and friends have an opportunity to walk to the front and place a flower in that person’s honor. 

The program is followed by a playing of the alma mater by the University String Quartet. Finally, the bells of the chapel will toll once for each life lost. 

The Oxford and Lafayette County community is invited to attend the ceremony, in addition to Ole Miss students, faculty and staff. The parking lot adjacent to Paris Yates Chapel will be reserved for family and other community members.

A reception will follow the ceremony for family and friends of students, faculty and staff.

The ceremony will honor:


Hailey Fox

Paul Hackett

Zachary Hoefler

Sesilia Keban

Rebecca Rhodes



Russell S. Buchholz

Edward Capps III

Theodore Klingen

Anne Marie Liles

Michael Scott Monaghan

Sandra Phillips

Agnes Rimando

F. Douglas Shields

Timothy Lynn Warren

Kenneth L. Wooten

By Justin Whitmore

Adam Brown
Adam Brown
Sports Editor

Most Popular

Recent Comments

scamasdscamith on News Watch Ole Miss
Frances Phillips on A Bigger, Better Student Union
Grace Hudditon on A Bigger, Better Student Union
Millie Johnston on A Bigger, Better Student Union
Binary options + Bitcoin = $ 1643 per week: https://8000-usd-per-day.blogspot.com.tr?b=46 on Beta Upsilon Chi: A Christian Brotherhood
Jay Mitchell on Reflections: The Square
Terry Wilcox SFCV USA RET on Oxford's Five Guys Announces Opening Date
Stephanie on Throwback Summer
organized religion is mans downfall on VP of Palmer Home Devotes Life to Finding Homes for Children
Paige Williams on Boyer: Best 10 Books of 2018
Keith mansel on Cleveland On Medgar Evans