Thursday, September 21, 2023

SEC with Six Teams Remaining in Super Regional

By Adam Brown
Sports Editor

The Road to Omaha has been cut down to only 16 teams. Only eight teams will punch their ticket to the College World Series after this weekend’s Super Regional.

The Southeastern Conference began the field of 64 teams with a total of nine teams that led all-conferences. Now the league only has six teams left in the dance. Last weekend, Florida, South Carolina and Alabama each did not advance out of their regional.

Arkansas, Vanderbilt, Mississippi State, Ole Miss, Tennessee and LSU made it one step closer to possibly play for a national title at TD Ameritrade Park in a few weeks.

The No. 1 overall seed, Arkansas, will play host to N.C. State. Ole Miss will travel to Tucson, Arizona, to take on the Arizona Wildcats. Vanderbilt will play host to East Carolina. Mississippi State will welcome Notre Dame into town.

This season, one Super Regional matches up two SEC clubs against each other as Tennessee will host the LSU Tigers on Rocky Top.

The CWS gets underway on June 19. A total of five teams from the league could still be standing in Omaha.