60.1 F

OHS Envirothon Teams Sweep State

Front row, L to R: Alex Ritchie, Meredith Walker, Norah Bruce, Juneau Claassen, Megan Colley. Back row, L to R: Noah Amidon, Michelle Le, Sneha Majumdar, William Berry, YiPing Wang. Photo provided by the OSD

Two teams of Oxford High School students brought home top honors at the Envirothon state competition earlier this month. 

The environmental science competition involves student teams rotating through stations about wildlife, forestry, soils, aquatic ecology, and a current issue that changes each year. Students must have a strong understanding of each topic and be able to identify a wide range of animals, trees, soil types, and aquatic invertebrates.

They also prepare a presentation focused on the current issue, which this year was “Adapting to a Changing Climate.” The OHS Envirothon program is under the direction of teacher, Amy Rosen.

Earning first place overall and earning the highest scores in Wildlife, Aquatic Ecology, and Current Issue is YiPing Wang, Michelle Le, William Berry, Sneha Majumdar, and team captain Norah Bruce. This team will travel to New Brunswick, Canada in July to represent the state of Mississippi at the National Competition.

Earning second place overall and earning the highest scores in Forestry and Oral Presentation is Alex Ritchie, Meredith Walker, Juneau Claassen, Noah Amidon, and Megan Colley.

Courtesy of the OSD

Most Popular

Recent Comments

scamasdscamith on News Watch Ole Miss
Frances Phillips on A Bigger, Better Student Union
Grace Hudditon on A Bigger, Better Student Union
Millie Johnston on A Bigger, Better Student Union
Binary options + Bitcoin = $ 1643 per week: https://8000-usd-per-day.blogspot.com.tr?b=46 on Beta Upsilon Chi: A Christian Brotherhood
Jay Mitchell on Reflections: The Square
Terry Wilcox SFCV USA RET on Oxford's Five Guys Announces Opening Date
Stephanie on Throwback Summer
organized religion is mans downfall on VP of Palmer Home Devotes Life to Finding Homes for Children
Paige Williams on Boyer: Best 10 Books of 2018
Keith mansel on Cleveland On Medgar Evans
John Q. Citizen on