54.5 F

District 4 Voting Precinct Officially Back at JAC With Agreement Signed

By Alyssa Schnugg

News editor


District 4 voters will cast their votes at the JAC in upcoming elections. File photo

The agreement between Lafayette County leaders and the University of Mississippi to move the District 4 precinct back to the JAC is a signed and done deal.

“We’d like to thank Chancellor Boyce for his efforts in making this happen,” said District 4 Supervisor Chad McLarty. “Perry Sansing and the legal team at the university. I want to thank Jeff Busby, the circuit clerk; Laura Antonow, the election commissioner for the district; and Oxford Alderman Jason Bailey for getting this going.”

In July 2018, the University told the county the JAC could no longer be used as the university didn’t want to be affiliated with any political aspects of elections by allowing their building to be used as a precinct.

The precinct was moved to the Lafayette Civic Center off Highway 6 West near Tommie Collie Jane Road; however, the location had several issues including space inside the small building and parking troubles for voters.

“We want to thank the Civic Center for allowing us to use their building for the last few years,” McLarty said.

McLarty said the JAC building is a bigger and safer area for voters.

The Lafayette County Circuit Court Clerk’s Office will be sending all voters in District 4 new cards.

Most Popular

Recent Comments

scamasdscamith on News Watch Ole Miss
Frances Phillips on A Bigger, Better Student Union
Grace Hudditon on A Bigger, Better Student Union
Millie Johnston on A Bigger, Better Student Union
Binary options + Bitcoin = $ 1643 per week: https://8000-usd-per-day.blogspot.com.tr?b=46 on Beta Upsilon Chi: A Christian Brotherhood
Jay Mitchell on Reflections: The Square
Terry Wilcox SFCV USA RET on Oxford's Five Guys Announces Opening Date
Stephanie on Throwback Summer
organized religion is mans downfall on VP of Palmer Home Devotes Life to Finding Homes for Children
Paige Williams on Boyer: Best 10 Books of 2018
Keith mansel on Cleveland On Medgar Evans
Anna Carson on