Friday, March 31, 2023

Former Rebel Mike Dennis Elected to MS Sports Hall of Fame

Mike Dennis / Photo courtesy of Ole Mss Sports
Mike Dennis / Photo courtesy of Ole Miss Sports

Former Ole Miss running back Mike Dennis will join the large Rebel contingent in the Mississippi Sports Hall of Fame next year, as the Hall announced its 2015 induction class Thursday.
Dennis is one of six Mississippi greats who will be inducted in the Mississippi Sports Hall of Fame on Aug. 1, 2015. The other members are former Southern Miss and NFL quarterback Brett Favre, Southern Miss and NBA star Clarence Weatherspoon, William Carey basketball coach and athletics director Steve Knight, Mississippi College and NFL running back Fred McAfee, and high school coaching legend Gwen White.
Dennis played running back for the Rebels from 1963-65 and amassed 1,323 career rushing yards, which was fifth-best in the school record books when he graduated. He was a member of the 1963 SEC championship team and co-captain of the 1965 team that went 7-4 and beat Auburn in the Liberty Bowl. He was the last two-time All-SEC running back at Ole Miss until Deuce McAllister accomplished the same feat.
The Jackson, Mississippi, native still holds the school record for most receptions in a bowl game (9 catches in the 1964 Bluebonnet Bowl). He led the Rebels in rushing, receiving and scoring in 1965 before being drafted in the both the NFL (Atlanta Falcons) and AFL (Buffalo Bills). He played two seasons with the NFL’s Los Angeles Rams and later became a well-respected dentist in Jackson.
Dennis will be the 73rd Ole Miss representative in the Hall, dating back to the inaugural class of 1961.
Follow Ole Miss Football on Twitter and Facebook, in addition to