56.1 F

Julie Cantrell Takes Top Honors From Christian Fiction Writers

Julie Cantrell

Oxford writer Julie Cantrell took top honors in her category in the prestigious Carol Awards from American Christian Fiction Writers.
Since its inception in 2002, ACFW’s Carol Award (originally the Book of the Year contest) has been the highest achievement for published authors of Christian fiction in the previous calendar year.
From among hundreds of entries in this year’s contest, including many top authors of inspirational fiction, Cantrell’s book When Mountains Move (David C. Cook) was honored as winner in the Historical Fiction category at the 2014 ACFW Awards Gala in St. Louis, MO on September 27th.
Cantrell has written movingly about the suicide of her teen brother who ended his own life two months before his high school graduation in 1997. Read about Cantrell’s thoughts on the tragedy of suicide here
“It’s an incredible honor to have been selected for such a prestigious award,” says Cantrell. “This was a shock for me because my work is not typical of traditional Christian Fiction. I am hopeful that by acknowledging my writing, the ACFW has helped establish a legitimate space in Christian publishing for stories that deliver hope while delving into the real-life complexities and difficulties most of us face along our journey. I long to write stories that both inspire and heal wounded spirits, but I want to do that in as authentic a way as possible.”
When Mountains Move is the sequel to Cantrell’s debut novel, Into the Free, which was awarded the Mississippi Library Association’s Fiction Award 2013 and the Christy Award for both Debut Novel of the Year and overall Book of the Year 2013. It received a rare starred review from Publishers Weekly and was one of five finalists for the University of Mississippi Common Reading Experience. The first book is set in Depression-era Mississippi and has become both a New York Times and USA TODAY bestseller while hitting international lists as well. The sequel continues the story of Cantrell’s protagonist during WWII, as she launches a new life in the Rocky Mountains of Colorado.
Signed to be published by Harper Collins Christian, Cantrell’s third novel is set in contemporary Louisiana. The release date is scheduled for November 2015.
ACFW is devoted to advance Christian Fiction by inspiring writers to join with God in the creative process, training them in the craft, and educating them in the publishing industry. With almost 3,000 members and 29 local chapters in 21 states, as well as a Beyond-the-Borders e-chapter, ACFW speaks as The Voice of Christian Fiction. For more information about ACFW and the Carol Awards, visit www.acfw.com or contact Casey Herringshaw, Carol Awards coordinator, at carols@acfw.com.
Courtesy of American Christian Fiction Writers.

Most Popular

Recent Comments

scamasdscamith on News Watch Ole Miss
Frances Phillips on A Bigger, Better Student Union
Grace Hudditon on A Bigger, Better Student Union
Millie Johnston on A Bigger, Better Student Union
Binary options + Bitcoin = $ 1643 per week: https://8000-usd-per-day.blogspot.com.tr?b=46 on Beta Upsilon Chi: A Christian Brotherhood
Jay Mitchell on Reflections: The Square
Terry Wilcox SFCV USA RET on Oxford's Five Guys Announces Opening Date
Stephanie on Throwback Summer
organized religion is mans downfall on VP of Palmer Home Devotes Life to Finding Homes for Children
Paige Williams on Boyer: Best 10 Books of 2018
Keith mansel on Cleveland On Medgar Evans
Albert Moore on