70 F

Ole Miss’ Shackelford a Finalist for Two National Awards

Deterrian Shackelford Photo courtesy of Joshua McCoy Ole Miss Athletics
Deterrian Shackelford Photo courtesy of Joshua McCoy Ole Miss Athletics

Deterrian Shackelford has had a long, winding journey as an Ole Miss Rebel. 
On Tuesday, his perseverance and pursuit of excellence were rewarded when he was announced as a finalist for two different national awards – the Senior CLASS Award and the Wuerffel Trophy.
The Decatur, Alabama, native already boasts a long list of honors in this football season, his sixth as a Rebel. He is a quarterfinalist for the Lott IMPACT Trophy and has been named to the Allstate AFCA Good Works Team and the SEC Community Service Team. He has also been tabbed Capital One Academic All-District and a semifinalist for the National Football Foundation Scholar-Athlete Award.
He is one of 10 finalists for the 2014 Senior CLASS Award, which recognizes NCAA Division I FBS seniors who have notable achievements in four areas of excellence – community, classroom, character and competition.
He is one of 12 finalists for the 2014 Wuerffel Trophy, the national award that honors the college football player who best exhibits exemplary community service.
On the field, Shackelford is the starting Mike linebacker for the nation’s top-ranked defense that allows just 11.9 points per game. Fully recovered from the knee injuries that caused him to miss the entire 2011 and 2012 seasons, he has helped Ole Miss to an 8-2 record and No. 10 national ranking for one of its best starts in history. He ranks sixth on the team with 44 tackles along with 4.5 TFLs, two sacks, two quarterback hurries and a forced fumble. He is the first ever two-time winner of the prestigious Chucky Mullins Courage Award, which goes to the Rebels’ most deserving defensive player each year.
Shackelford already owns two degrees from Ole Miss. He earned a bachelor’s degree in history with a minor in English in just three years, and he received a master’s degree in higher education this summer. He boasts a 3.57 grade point average in graduate school after posting a 3.36 in his undergrad studies.
He is equally committed to off-the-field service to his community. He is a highly sought-after speaker for community, school and religious groups, has volunteered for numerous community outreach activities, and has helped lead mission trips to Panama and Haiti the past two spring breaks.
An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School®, the Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.
The finalists were chosen by a media committee from the list of 30 candidates announced in September. Nationwide fan voting begins immediately to help select the winner. Fans are encouraged to vote on the Senior CLASS Award websitethrough December 15. Fan votes will be combined with media and Division I head coaches’ votes to determine the winner. The Senior CLASS Award winner will be announced during the football bowl season in early January.
2014 Senior CLASS Award Finalists Ameer Abdullah, Nebraska Sam Carter, TCU Chris Conley, Georgia Cody Fajardo, Nevada Devin Gardner, Michigan Taylor Kelly, Arizona State Eric Kendricks, UCLA Tyler Lockett, Kansas State Deterrian Shackelford, Ole Miss JaCorey Shepherd, Kansas
This is the 10th anniversary of the Wuerffel Trophy, an award named after former Heisman Trophy winner Danny Wuerffel, who led the Florida Gators to the 1996 national championship, played six years in the NFL and has received national recognition for his humanitarian and community service efforts with Desire Street Ministries, in New Orleans and around the country.
A committee, which includes the Wuerffel Trophy national directors, selection committee members and past winners, will vote on the winner, who will be formally announced on Dec. 9, 2014. The 2014 Wuerffel Trophy will be presented to the winner at the All Sports Association’s 46th Annual Awards Banquet on Feb. 13, 2015, in Fort Walton Beach, Florida.
For more information on the Wuerffel Trophy, visit www.wuerffeltrophy.org.
2014 Wuerffel Trophy Finalists Ameer Abdullah – University of Nebraska – running back Corey Acosta – University of Southern Mississippi – place kicker Brennen Beyer – University of Michigan – defensive end Chris Conley – University of Georgia – wide receiver Andrew East – Vanderbilt University – long snapper Bryce Haynes – Ohio State University – long snapper Taylor Kelly – Arizona State University – quarterback Trevor Knight – University of Oklahoma – quarterback Greg Mancz – University of Toledo – center Sam Rodgers – Syracuse University – long snapper Deterrian Shackelford – University of Mississippi – linebacker Dylan Thompson – University of South Carolina – quarterback
Follow Ole Miss Football on Twitter (@OleMissFB) and Facebook (Facebook.com/OleMissFootball), in addition to www.OleMissSports.com.
–Ole Miss Sports Information

Most Popular

Recent Comments

scamasdscamith on News Watch Ole Miss
Frances Phillips on A Bigger, Better Student Union
Grace Hudditon on A Bigger, Better Student Union
Millie Johnston on A Bigger, Better Student Union
Binary options + Bitcoin = $ 1643 per week: https://8000-usd-per-day.blogspot.com.tr?b=46 on Beta Upsilon Chi: A Christian Brotherhood
Jay Mitchell on Reflections: The Square
Terry Wilcox SFCV USA RET on Oxford's Five Guys Announces Opening Date
Stephanie on Throwback Summer
organized religion is mans downfall on VP of Palmer Home Devotes Life to Finding Homes for Children
Paige Williams on Boyer: Best 10 Books of 2018
Keith mansel on Cleveland On Medgar Evans
John Q. Citizen on