68.4 F

Ole Miss’ Gleeson Makes Ray Guy Award Watch List

Will Gleeson  Photo courtesy of Josh McCoy/ Ole Miss Athletics
Will Gleeson
Photo courtesy of Josh McCoy/ Ole Miss Athletics

Ole Miss players keep showing up on preseason award watch lists. On Thursday it was sophomore Will Gleeson who was among the 25 punters on the 2015 Ray Guy Award preseason watch list, announced by the Augusta Sports Council.

Gleeson, who is one of five Southeastern Conference punters on the list, averaged 42.9 yards per punt as a freshman last season, which ranked 28th in the country. He pinned 41.4 percent of his punts inside the 20 and booted 12 punts of 50+ yards. The Melbourne, Australia, native was a two-time National Punter of the Week selection by the Ray Guy Award after superb outings against Boise State and Tennessee.

Gleeson has also been named preseason All-SEC third team by Phil Steele this summer.

The number of eligible candidates for the 2015 Ray Guy Award will grow when the award opens for nominations in September. The complete list of candidates will be released Oct. 30.  In early November, the Ray Guy Award committee will meet to select the 10 semifinalists, who will be announced Nov. 13. A national body of Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) sports information directors, coaches, media representatives and previous Ray Guy Award winners will then vote for the top three finalists, to be announced Nov. 23. After the finalists are named, the voting body will cast ballots again to select the nation’s top punter. The winner will be announced live during The Home Depot College Football Awards airing on ESPN on Thursday, Dec. 10, 2015.

The Augusta Sports Council created the Ray Guy Award in 2000 to honor Thomson, Georgia, native and College and Pro Football Hall of Fame inductee, Ray Guy. The winner must display team leadership, self-discipline, and have a positive impact on the team’s success.

Other Rebels who have been named to preseason watch lists include:

  • Evan Engram – John Mackey Award
  • Robert Nkemdiche – Chuck Bednarik Award, Lott IMPACT Trophy
  • Laquon Treadwell – Maxwell Award
  • Jaylen Walton – Paul Hornung Award

Follow Ole Miss Football on Twitter (@OleMissFB) and Facebook (Facebook.com/OleMissFootball), in addition to www.OleMissSports.com.

Courtesy of Ole Miss Athletics

Adam Brown
Adam Brown
Sports Editor

Most Popular

Recent Comments

scamasdscamith on News Watch Ole Miss
Frances Phillips on A Bigger, Better Student Union
Grace Hudditon on A Bigger, Better Student Union
Millie Johnston on A Bigger, Better Student Union
Binary options + Bitcoin = $ 1643 per week: https://8000-usd-per-day.blogspot.com.tr?b=46 on Beta Upsilon Chi: A Christian Brotherhood
Jay Mitchell on Reflections: The Square
Terry Wilcox SFCV USA RET on Oxford's Five Guys Announces Opening Date
Stephanie on Throwback Summer
organized religion is mans downfall on VP of Palmer Home Devotes Life to Finding Homes for Children
Paige Williams on Boyer: Best 10 Books of 2018
Keith mansel on Cleveland On Medgar Evans