54.7 F

Saiz Named C Spire Howell Trophy Finalist

Photo by Paul Keelaghan

Ole Miss senior forward Sebastian Saiz has been named one of three finalists for the C Spire Howell Trophy the Mississippi Sports Hall of Fame announced Sunday.
Rebel Stefan Moody took home the C Spire Howell Trophy each of the last two seasons and an Ole Miss player has won the award each of the last four seasons. Presented to the most outstanding men’s collegiate basketball player in Mississippi, the trophy is named for the great Bailey Howell. The trophy will be presented Monday, March 6, at an 11:30 a.m. awards luncheon at the Mississippi Sports Hall of Fame and Museum. Joining Saiz as finalists are Delta State Devin Schmitt and Mississippi State’s Quinndary Weatherspoon.
A native of Madrid Spain, Saiz leads the SEC, and ranks eighth in the nation, in rebounding this season pulling down 10.8 boards a game. The SEC’s active career rebounding leader, he recently moved past Reggie Buckner into third in Ole Miss history with 913 rebounds. Saiz has topped both 1,000 points and 900 boards in  his career and joins Rebel great Murphy Holloway as the only two players in school history with 1,000 points and 900 rebounds. Saiz is also first player in school history and just the 16th player in SEC history with 1,000 points, 900 rebounds and 100 blocked shots.
A statewide panel of media who cover college basketball in the state of Mississippi selected the finalists and will vote among the finalists for the winner. Their votes accounted for 90 percent of the final voting and fan voting, conducted by C Spire, and accounted for a weighted 10 percent of the final voting.
Fan voting will begin on Monday, Feb. 27 at 8:30 a.m. CST and ends on Sunday, March 5 at 8:30 a.m. CST. Fans can vote for their favorite college basketball player by visiting www.csopavoting.com, providing an email address and name, or connecting through Facebook or Twitter. Once an account is created, voting can begin and fans can choose their first, second and third place winners. Fans will be able to vote via Facebook, Twitter and text messaging and can submit up to three votes per day during the six-day voting period.
For ticket information, contact the Museum at 1-800-280-FAME (3263). All proceeds benefit the private, non-profit Mississippi Sports Hall of Fame and Museum.
Courtesy of Ole Miss Sports

Most Popular

Recent Comments

scamasdscamith on News Watch Ole Miss
Frances Phillips on A Bigger, Better Student Union
Grace Hudditon on A Bigger, Better Student Union
Millie Johnston on A Bigger, Better Student Union
Binary options + Bitcoin = $ 1643 per week: https://8000-usd-per-day.blogspot.com.tr?b=46 on Beta Upsilon Chi: A Christian Brotherhood
Jay Mitchell on Reflections: The Square
Terry Wilcox SFCV USA RET on Oxford's Five Guys Announces Opening Date
Stephanie on Throwback Summer
organized religion is mans downfall on VP of Palmer Home Devotes Life to Finding Homes for Children
Paige Williams on Boyer: Best 10 Books of 2018
Keith mansel on Cleveland On Medgar Evans