54.5 F

Saiz Earns First Team All-SEC Honors

Photo by Danny Dickey

Ole Miss senior forward Sebastian Saiz has been named to the All-SEC first-team by the league’s coaches, the conference office announced Tuesday.

The 2017 C Spire Howell Trophy winner, as the best men’s collegiate player in Mississippi, is the 16th All-SEC honoree under head coach Andy Kennedy, which is the third-most in the league over the last 11 years trailing only Kentucky and Florida. Saiz is also the first Ole Miss big man to earn first team All-SEC honors since Justin Reed in 2004.
A native of Madrid Spain, Saiz leads the SEC, and ranks seventh in the nation, in rebounding this season pulling down 10.9 boards a game. The SEC’s active career rebounding leader, he recently moved past Reggie Buckner into third in Ole Miss history with 937 rebounds. Saiz has topped both 1,000 points and 900 boards in his career and joined Rebel great Murphy Holloway as the only two players in school history with 1,000 points and 900 rebounds.
Saiz is also first player in school history and just the 16th player in SEC history with 1,000 points, 900 rebounds and 100 blocked shots. He also picked up first team All-District IV team honors from the U.S. Basketball Writers Association, the media organization announced Tuesday. Saiz is one of ten honorees named to the squad consisting of players the states of Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Mississippi and Tennessee.
Saiz and the Rebels open SEC Tournament play Thursday 8:30 pm against the Auburn-Missouri winner.
First Team All-SEC
KeVaughn Allen, Florida
J.J. Frazier, Georgia
Yante Maten, Georgia
De’Aaron Fox, Kentucky
Malik Monk, Kentucky
Sebastian Saiz, Ole Miss
Sindarius Thornwell, South Carolina
Luke Kornet, Vanderbilt
Second Team All-SEC
Moses Kingsley, Arkansas
Kasey Hill, Florida
Bam Adebayo, Kentucky
Antonio Blakeney, LSU
Quinndary Weatherspoon, Miss State
Robert Hubbs III, Tennessee
Tyler Davis, Texas A&M
Robert Williams, Texas A&M
All-Freshman Team
Braxton Key, Alabama
Mustapha Heron, Auburn
Bam Adebayo, Kentucky
De’Aaron Fox, Kentucky
Malik Monk, Kentucky
Lamar Peters, Mississippi St.
Grant Williams, Tennessee
Robert Williams, Texas A&M
All-Defensive Team
Moses Kingsley, Arkansas
Kasey Hill, Florida
Sindarius Thornwell, South Carolina
Robert Williams, Texas A&M
Luke Kornet, Vanderbilt
Coach of the Year: Mike White, Florida
Player of the Year: Sindarius Thornwell, South Carolina
Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Luke Kornet, Vanderbilt
Freshman of the Year: Malik Monk, Kentucky
Sixth-Man of the Year: Canyon Barry, Florida
Defensive Player of the Year: Robert Williams, Texas A&M

Courtesy of Ole Miss Sports
Questions email us at hottytoddynews@gmail.com
Follow HottyToddy.com on Instagram, Twitter and Snapchat @hottytoddynews. Like its Facebook page: If You Love Oxford and Ole Miss…

Most Popular

Recent Comments

scamasdscamith on News Watch Ole Miss
Frances Phillips on A Bigger, Better Student Union
Grace Hudditon on A Bigger, Better Student Union
Millie Johnston on A Bigger, Better Student Union
Binary options + Bitcoin = $ 1643 per week: https://8000-usd-per-day.blogspot.com.tr?b=46 on Beta Upsilon Chi: A Christian Brotherhood
Jay Mitchell on Reflections: The Square
Terry Wilcox SFCV USA RET on Oxford's Five Guys Announces Opening Date
Stephanie on Throwback Summer
organized religion is mans downfall on VP of Palmer Home Devotes Life to Finding Homes for Children
Paige Williams on Boyer: Best 10 Books of 2018
Keith mansel on Cleveland On Medgar Evans
Stonewall Jackson on