61.4 F

Ludmila Kareisova Named to All-SEC Second Team

Ludmila Kareisova Photo courtesy of Ole Miss Athletics

 Ole Miss women’s tennis No. 1 singles player Ludmila Kareisova was named to the All-SEC Second Team on Thursday. The Second Team honor was based solely on the votes of the 14 SEC coaches.
The sophomore is ranked No. 48 in the nation, according to the latest ITA Singles Rankings released on April 25. This season, the All SEC First-Team and Second Team features the top 26 players in the conference.
It marks the Czechia native’s  first All-SEC honor of her young career after a impressive second-year with the Rebels. Kareisova compiled an overall record of 16-12 in singles and doubles record of 14-13. She began the season at the No. 2 singles, going 10-2 at the position. After taking going 3-0 against top-50 opponents, Kareisova moved into the top position for the last 10 matches. Late in the year, she grabbed her highest ranked win against Tennessee’s All-SEC First Team selection No. 21 Elza Tomase, finishing 7-7 against ranked indivduals. In conference play, Kareisova went 7-3 in singles.
Kareisova played along side Anaelle Leclercq-Ficher at No. 3 singles, tallying a 7-7 record before switching to No. 3 doubles with Emma Kette. She excelled with her new partner, going 4-2 with the freshman.
The Rebel aims to qualify for the NCAA Singles Championships, which would make the third consecutive year a Rebel appears in the tournament. Fellow Czechia native Sabina Machalova represented Ole Miss the last two seasons.
The full 2023 SEC Season Awards are listed below:
First Team All-SEC
Carolyn Ansari, Auburn
Sara Dahlstrom, Florida
Lea Ma, Georgia
Dasha Vidmanova, Georgia
Anastasiya Komar, LSU
Ayana Akli, South Carolina
Sarah Hamner, South Carolina
Daria Kuczer, Tennessee        
Rebeka Mertena, Tennessee 
Elza Tomase, Tennessee
Carson Branstine, Texas A&M
Mary Stoiana, Texas A&M
Celia Belle Mohr, Vanderbilt
Second Team All-SEC
Loudmilla Bencheikh, Alabama             
Carolina Gomez Alonso, Arkansas        
Ariana Arseneault, Auburn    
Carly Briggs, Florida
Alicia Dudeney, Florida
Meg Kowalski, Georgia         
Mell Reasco, Georgia            
Florencia Urrutia, Kentucky   
Kylie Collins, LSU   
Ludmila Kareisova, Ole Miss  
Emmanouela Antonaki, Mississippi State             
Salma Ewing, Texas A&M      
Mia Kupres, Texas A&M        
Jayci Goldsmith, Texas A&M                               
Carolina Gomez Alonso, Arkansas        
DJ Bennett, Auburn
Rachel Gailis, Florida            
Anastasiia Lopata, Georgia   
Mia Kupres, Texas A&M        
Bridget Stammel, Vanderbilt 
Player of the Year
Mary Stoiana, Texas A&M
Freshmen of the Year
Carolina Gomez Alonso, Arkansas
Co-Coaches of the Year
Allison Ojeda, Tennessee
Mark Weaver, Texas A&M


Courtesy of Ole Miss Sports

Adam Brown
Adam Brown
Sports Editor

Most Popular

Recent Comments

scamasdscamith on News Watch Ole Miss
Frances Phillips on A Bigger, Better Student Union
Grace Hudditon on A Bigger, Better Student Union
Millie Johnston on A Bigger, Better Student Union
Binary options + Bitcoin = $ 1643 per week: https://8000-usd-per-day.blogspot.com.tr?b=46 on Beta Upsilon Chi: A Christian Brotherhood
Jay Mitchell on Reflections: The Square
Terry Wilcox SFCV USA RET on Oxford's Five Guys Announces Opening Date
Stephanie on Throwback Summer
organized religion is mans downfall on VP of Palmer Home Devotes Life to Finding Homes for Children
Paige Williams on Boyer: Best 10 Books of 2018
Keith mansel on Cleveland On Medgar Evans
H. Gilliland on