Saturday, October 31, 2020

Eating Oxford

‘A Calling’ Inspires Rave Coffee House Owners to Invest in Water Valley

By Anna Grace Usery Editor-in-Chief anna.grace.usery@hottytoddyarchive.com After growing up in the rural town of Water Valley, Shelly Hood never dreamed of coming back. That is, until a...

Local Italian Eatery Gains National Magazine Recognition

By McKinley Booth and Trip Crawford Hottytoddy.com interns lmbooth@go.olemiss.edu; rhcrawf1@go.olemiss.edu One local Italian eatery recently received national recognition by the way of Garden & Gun magazine. Local...

My Michelle’s New Location Offers Dine-In Lunch, Grab-and-Go Items

By Shelley Locke and Lindsey Morgan Coughlin Hottytoddy.com interns smlocke@go.olemiss.edu; lmcoughl@go.olemiss.edu Oxford native and local business owner Michelle Rounsaville recently took the opportunity to open a...

Square’s Newest Tapas Joint “The Sipp” Offers Fine Wines, Cheeses

By Megan Pipech and Emma Carney Hottytoddy.com interns mcpipech@go.olemiss.edu; emcarney@go.olemiss.edu The Sipp on South Lamar is the newest Square gathering spot to grab a cocktail and...

The Growler Offers Hand-Crafted Experience to Oxford Beer and Whiskey Drinkers

By Anna Grace Bolen and Brooklyn McHugh Hottytoddy.com interns agbolen@go.olemiss.edu; bqmchugh@go.olemiss.edu Located across from the Lafayette County Chancery Building is a small beer haven where the beer...

Shark Bite: Reviews of Pizza Den, 6 ‘N Tubbs Pizza

By Wes Brown, Charles Matranga Hottytoddy.com contributors sharkbiteoxford@gmail.com Before we get into this week’s reviews, make sure you are following us on social media @SharkBiteOxford! Next week...

Local BBQ Sauce Entrepreneurs Combine Mississippi Delta, Arkansas Influences

By Gentry Barton Hottytoddy.com intern gebarton@go.olemiss.edu What began as a family recipe for “table sauce” quickly transformed into a small and flourishing local barbecue sauce company. Owners of...

Shark Bite: Reviews of Soulshine, Lost Pizza

By Wes Brown, Charles Matranga Hottytoddy.com contributors sharkbiteoxford@gmail.com Soulshine Overall: 8.6 Price: large for $16 After we walked through the door of Soulshine and introduced ourselves, the manager said: “We’ve...

Chicory Market Owners Cultivate Welcoming Atmosphere for Shoppers

By Makayla Steede Journalism Student mgsteede@go.olemiss.edu John Martin stands behind the counter of Chicory Market. Tall, thin and wearing black-framed glasses and an easy smile, he pours...

Shark Bite: Reviews of Volta, TriBecca Allie Pizza

By Wes Brown, Charles Matranga Hottytoddy.com contributors sharkbiteoxford@gmail.com TriBecca Allie Overall: 8.5 Price: $13.50 for a large pizza   After getting such a high volume of feedback from our readers, we...

Must Read

Food & Drink: What’s Hot and What’s Not in 2015

By Laurie Triplette ldtriplette@aol.com We’re almost a month into the New Year and certain changes in American food preferences are becoming apparent. Still putting bacon into everything...

Checkers Drive-In Will Return to Oxford

Checker's will be relocating to the old Abner's building on West Jackson Avenue, according to the Oxford Planning Department.

EatingOxford: 3 Steps to Success at 3 Blind Wines

I’ve been attending the annual 3 Blind Wines event since it began in 2010, always with a keen eye on the top prize of...

On Cooking Southern: St. Paddy's Day

By Laurie Triplette ldtriplette@aol.com Southernism of the Week Stem-winder: A person who’s liable to give a rousing speech or effective recap of a situation; also someone or a...