51.2 F

College World Series to Wrap Up as an All-SEC Final

By Adam Brown
Sports Editor

The 2021 Road to Omaha is down to the final two teams that will take the diamond in the championship series for the National title at TD Ameritrade.

The defending 2019 national champion Vanderbilt Commodores will take on their SEC foe the Mississippi State Bulldogs in the best 2-of-3 series. This will be the third time two SEC teams meet in the Championship series as South Carolina took on Florida in 2011 and Florida faced LSU in 2017.

Vanderbilt had to come out of the losers bracket after falling to N.C. State Wolfpack 1-0 in their second game of the College World Series. The Commodores worked their way back to take on Wolfpack for a chance to defend their crown.

The Commodores defeated an N.C. State club battling COVID-19 positive cases by the score of 3-1 on Friday. The Saturday game, a winner-take-all, was declared a no-contest due to COVID-19. Vanderbilt advanced to the final series.

Mississippi State heads back to the championship series for the first time since the 2013 season in which they fell to UCLA.

The Bulldogs defeated Texas 4-3 on Saturday night in a winner-take-all matchup to advance to take on the Commodores.

Back at the beginning of the NCAA Tournament, the SEC had a total of nine teams in the field of 64. Three made it to Omaha. Since 1988, the SEC has had the most representation in Omaha outside of six years. The league has a total of 13 national titles going into this series. 

Game times for the series are tonight at 6 (ESPN2), Tuesday at 6 p.m. (ESPN), and Wednesday at 6 p.m. (ESPN2).

Adam Brown
Adam Brown
Sports Editor

Most Popular

Recent Comments

scamasdscamith on News Watch Ole Miss
Frances Phillips on A Bigger, Better Student Union
Grace Hudditon on A Bigger, Better Student Union
Millie Johnston on A Bigger, Better Student Union
Binary options + Bitcoin = $ 1643 per week: https://8000-usd-per-day.blogspot.com.tr?b=46 on Beta Upsilon Chi: A Christian Brotherhood
Jay Mitchell on Reflections: The Square
Terry Wilcox SFCV USA RET on Oxford's Five Guys Announces Opening Date
Stephanie on Throwback Summer
organized religion is mans downfall on VP of Palmer Home Devotes Life to Finding Homes for Children
Paige Williams on Boyer: Best 10 Books of 2018
Keith mansel on Cleveland On Medgar Evans