57.4 F

MDOT District 2 Equipment Operators Roadeo Winners Announced

The Mississippi Department of Transportation held its annual Equipment Operators Roadeo for District 2 at the district office in Batesville on Thursday.

“Safety and efficiency are our top priorities,” said Commissioner John Caldwell, Northern Transportation District. “These roadeos give MDOT frontline workers an opportunity to improve and enhance the techniques and skills they use on the job .”

District 2 includes Lafayette County.

Focusing on efficiency and skill, MDOT’s roadeos provide employees with an opportunity to display their mastery of vehicle handling, trailer maneuvering and heavy equipment precision.

The event and judging criteria provide feedback and help operators evaluate their strengths and challenges. Operators improve techniques and learn new skills while engaging in some friendly competition.

District 2 event winners are as follows:

  • Lowboy: First Place – Thomas R. Goode; Second Place – Joshua Hankins; Third Place  – Mickey Smith.
  • Single-Axle Dump Truck: First Place – James S. Anderson; Second Place – Edward T. “Tyrone” Thompson; Third Place – Shaun R. Dees.
  • Tandem-Axle Dump Truck: First Place – Justin Applewhite; Second Place – Mickey Smith; Third Place – Edward T. “Tyrone” Thompson.
  • Backhoe: First Place – Thomas R. Goode; Second Place – Brower Nick; Third Place – David Manual.
  • Motor Grader: First Place – Thomas E. “Tom” Malone; Second Place – Thomas R. Goode; Third Place – Tommy C. Rogers.
  • Bushhog: First Place – Joshua L. Hood; Second Place – Bobby J. Bell; Third Place – Anthony D. DeNuzio.

The top two winners from each event advance to the state finals. At the state competition, winners from all six districts will compete and a state champion will be crowned.

For more information about the Equipment Operators Roadeo, visit GoMDOT.com.

Courtesy of MDOT

Most Popular

Recent Comments

scamasdscamith on News Watch Ole Miss
Frances Phillips on A Bigger, Better Student Union
Grace Hudditon on A Bigger, Better Student Union
Millie Johnston on A Bigger, Better Student Union
Binary options + Bitcoin = $ 1643 per week: https://8000-usd-per-day.blogspot.com.tr?b=46 on Beta Upsilon Chi: A Christian Brotherhood
Jay Mitchell on Reflections: The Square
Terry Wilcox SFCV USA RET on Oxford's Five Guys Announces Opening Date
Stephanie on Throwback Summer
organized religion is mans downfall on VP of Palmer Home Devotes Life to Finding Homes for Children
Paige Williams on Boyer: Best 10 Books of 2018
Keith mansel on Cleveland On Medgar Evans
Robert W on